Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Upgrading package and upload speeds?

    This is a discussion on Upgrading package and upload speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I'm on the 8Mb package and currently am achieving upload speeds of around 300-350Mbps. The Sky site is ...

    1. #1
      loki365's Avatar
      loki365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01992
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Hi there,

      I'm on the 8Mb package and currently am achieving upload speeds of around 300-350Mbps.

      The Sky site is not very forthcoming on upload speeds - if I upgrade to the 16Mb product will this improve my upload speed or are the upload speeds the same?

      Also, will they let me upgrade to the 16Mb package easily, or am I stuck on the 8Mb product for the 12 month minimum term of the contract?

      Thanks for your help!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      you can upgrade whenever you want, downgrading is the hard part!!

      and yes, upload would increase from 384/416 to 768...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      loki365's Avatar
      loki365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01992
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Great, thanks for the information!

      Has anyone actually upgraded from the 8Mb to 16Mb package? How long after making the request until they carry out the update, and is there any downtime involved?

    5. #4
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      It happen almost immediatly s i understand. However can you post some router statistics to ensure your line is capable of max. Although you may wish to have it for the unlimited downloads.

    6. #5
      loki365's Avatar
      loki365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01992
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Thanks, I'll do that and see what you think. Do I just need the stats that are available form the router admin pages, or should i be using some sort of special utility to find this information?

    7. #6
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Hi

      Loki365 - I really hope you don't mind me joining your thread but I have exactly the same questions as you so it seemed silly to start a separate thread.

      I also found the sky site very unhelpful on upload speeds and even Sky phone support gave me the wrong answer, they told me that the upload speed for the Mid and the Max packages are the same but I am currently on Mid and only see my router reporting 384kbps upload and I definitely wanted 768kbps so I am almost certain to upgrade even if it doesn't boost my download speed. I use an online backup service (Mozy) so fast upload is very important to me.

      I got my stats from the standard router admin screen and see as follows:

      Connection Speed: 7616kbps down, 384kbps up.
      Line attenuation: 35db down, 9.5db up.
      Noise margin: 9db down, 13db up.

      I'm not sure how this works but I am of course hoping that since I'm getting 7616/8192 = 93% of theoretical maximum Mid speed than maybe I'll get a pretty respectable percentage of the possible 16M speed if I go to Max or doesn't it work like that?

      I just saw this great thread (Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained) which seems to say that my 35db line attenuation looks pretty promising with a potential 14500kbps connection speed.

      - Julian

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Julian View Post
      I'm not sure how this works but I am of course hoping that since I'm getting 7616/8192 = 93% of theoretical maximum Mid speed than maybe I'll get a pretty respectable percentage of the possible 16M speed if I go to Max or doesn't it work like that?
      I'm afraid it doesn't work like that. To get speeds above 8Mbit/sec, Sky uses a different type of ADSL called ADSL2+, but if you're not connecting at the maximum speed on your current Mid connection (which uses a type of ADSL called G.DMT), then you're not likely to get very much more on Max.

      In fact, Sky may decide that you line can't handle ADSL2+ very well, and they might leave you on G.DMT which will mean you get exactly the same downstream speed as you're getting now. Your upstream speed will increase though, and you will get the (virtually) unlimited data allowance.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Julian View Post
      I just saw this great thread (Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained) which seems to say that my 35db line attenuation looks pretty promising with a potential 14500kbps connection speed.
      Yes - that's sort of true. But only if your line quality is good.

      As James has pointed out, if you're not getting the maximum Mid speed then your line quality probably isn't good enough (as shown by your noise margin/attenuation combo). Out of interest, is your noise margin 9db when you reboot? If so then you may be lightly capped.

      Have a look at the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems. Sort any line noise out and you may well get 12meg on ADSL2+ (not 14 as your attenuation will rise to ~38db on ADSL2+).
      Last edited by Saturday; 28-03-08 at 04:54 PM.

    10. #9
      loki365's Avatar
      loki365 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01992
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      Interesting stuff. I'll have to read up more on attenuation and noise as at the minute I don't understand it well. Below are the stats from my router this afternoon:

      Downstream Speed - 2208 kbps / Upstream Speed - 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation (Downstream) - 56.0 db
      Line Attenuation (Upstream) - 31.5 db
      Noise Margin (Downstream) - 8.4 db
      Noise Margin (Upstream) - 14.0 db

      How does that look? Is my upload speed likely to improve much if I go up onto the 16Mb package?

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Upgrading package and upload speeds?

      your upload will
      your download could be improved (not from the max package, but by looking into your internal wiring )

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION