Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    router connection speed changing

    This is a discussion on router connection speed changing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have the original white sky router. when i first connected to sky broadband max, i was getting not far ...

    1. #1
      chalkyman's Avatar
      chalkyman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      router connection speed changing

      i have the original white sky router.
      when i first connected to sky broadband max, i was getting not far off 16meg for months, then i had a problem with the line, which was affecting my phones.
      This was fixed by BT, but my speeds dropped to 14meg, which was still ok with me.

      i checked my router today, and my speeds have dropped to 8meg

      my stats are as follows

      connection speed downstream 7964kbps upstream 764kbps
      line attenuation downstream 27.0 db upstream 15.4db
      noise margin downstream 19.3db upstream 11.5db

      Should i contact SKY regarding the speeds ?

      Any help would be appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      assuming you called previously, you've been heavily capped but at least you're still on ADSL2+...

      do you actually have the V1 router or is your profile incorrect? if you do have the white router you can post full stats and your max rate should be near 14Mbps...if you have a V2 (black) router though we can only assume you've been capped
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      chalkyman's Avatar
      chalkyman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      i have not phoned sky yet about my speeds, and the most i have ever downloaded is 30gig in a month, but that was unusual.
      I have the netgear 834gt white router.
      my stats are as follows
      Last edited by chalkyman; 27-03-08 at 01:23 PM.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      picture not showing...

      how many sockets do you have in the house? are you in your master socket or, better still, test socket?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      chalkyman's Avatar
      chalkyman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      i have 2 sockets in the house. extension in the spare room, which i connect to, but it is behind the computer desk, so it is never touched.
      sorry about the pic, dont really know how to upload it.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      you'll need to move router to master socket (or the test socket if you have one) and if speed returns the issue is with your wiring (which sounds the likely cause)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      chalkyman's Avatar
      chalkyman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      ok, i will give that a try
      many thanks

    9. #8
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      I too have checked my router today & my D/L speed has dropped from 6MEG down to 2MEG, i have the original white router & have been around 6 since i originally had Sky in August 2006. Should i ring Sky ?

      Many thanks

      Steve

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      are you running off an extention? if so, move to your master.test socket and see...

      stats also help...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router connection speed changing

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      are you running off an extention? if so, move to your master.test socket and see...

      stats also help...
      Thanks for that, how can i copy my stats & post them ?

      Sorry but i don't know how to

      As i said i have always been around 6MEG until i checked it today, the last time i checked was around 2 weeks ago & it was normal, i should mention that i lost connection altogether this morning for 10-15 minutes as well but not sure if that means anything...
      Last edited by Cockney; 27-03-08 at 02:21 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION