Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Really low speeds

    This is a discussion on Really low speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I just started using sky max today and i've been getting some reallly slow speeds. Speedtest.net and the router ...

    1. #1
      EazyPreezy's Avatar
      EazyPreezy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wilmslow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Wilmslow
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Really low speeds

      Hi,

      I just started using sky max today and i've been getting some reallly slow speeds.

      Speedtest.net and the router says i should be getting around 700~ but my actual download speeds rarely go above 100. Pages also load rather slow and I occassionally time out.

      My router stats are:

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 6.02.01.00
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 640 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 288 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 640 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 14 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 7 db

      I'm using all the cables that came with the sky set up package.

      Any suggestions?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      could you do some comparison stats from your test socket (see first link in my sig)

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      upstream looks suspiciously like a Connect upstream...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      EazyPreezy's Avatar
      EazyPreezy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wilmslow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Wilmslow
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      I can't really find the master socket hence the test socket. I THINK its boarded up behind some wall. I tried another socket and got these results

      System Up Time: 00:09:12

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1212 1797 0 722 3638 00:07:35
      LAN 100M/Full 2359 1870 0 3624 812 00:09:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 168 0 0 105 0 00:08:55
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1184 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 14.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 7 db

      my ping is also around 175 :S


      if there are 2 lines in the house would I have 2 separate units or one unit with 2 sockets?
      Last edited by EazyPreezy; 27-03-08 at 03:25 PM.

    6. #5
      H0OPERS's Avatar
      H0OPERS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      wow..

      i would knock that wall down if i was you, to get to the master socket.

      Have u switched Filters and added Filters onto other sockets in use and
      What else is connected into the socket you have the router in?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      if there are 2 lines in the house would I have 2 separate units or one unit with 2 sockets?
      There may be 2 master sockets or it could be one socket with 2 outlets. It just depends on how it was originally installed. You will really need to locate the master socket. Open the sockets you can reach and see if there is a capacitor and arrestor in one of them. If so that will probably be the master.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      stuck_123's Avatar
      stuck_123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      hey i am having a similar problem really slow speeds of around 15k/second, i am on sky max and should get speeds of 3.5MB,however you can see i am nowhere near that, i am using a wireless adapter and there are 2 other people on the network one wired,my pc (wireless) and a laptop(wireless),i'll post you the stats and see what you people can do,thanks

      Really low speeds-help.jpg

    9. #8
      stuck_123's Avatar
      stuck_123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      i have just joined sky and have been connected for over 2 weeks now, i get the odd dropped connection,my wireless adapter is a "PEAK ii Wireless usb adapter"

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      i am using a wireless adapter and there are 2 other people on the network
      In this case it does not matter how you are connected to the router. The router is not connecting nearly fast enough and with your attenuation your are not capped. There is obviously a serious fault somewhere. Remove the faceplate of your Master socket, if you have an NTE5, and plug into the Test socket, using only a filter. This will isolate all the other extensions and enable you to discover whether the fault is internal or external.

      If you do not have an NTE5 master socket, all you can do is remove everything else that is plugged into the phone line and plug into the master using a filter.

      I must emphasize that it must be the master socket, any other socket will not do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      stuck_123's Avatar
      stuck_123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really low speeds

      hey thanks for your input,unfortunately i am not the network admin(he is at work) i have been told he is going to try and fix the problem later,but when i return from work i shall certainly point him to your advice ,when i know more i shall post back

      thanks again.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION