Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Poor Speeds

    This is a discussion on Poor Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi need some help with connection speed. Been in touch with sky about this problem. they said it was internal ...

    1. #1
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor Speeds

      Hi need some help with connection speed. Been in touch with sky about this problem. they said it was internal wiring . I have changed all wiring to extensions and installed new sockets.

      Master socket has been changed as well to NTE 5a Marster Socket and then changed to The XTE-2005 professional. sky say that i should to a lot faster, but it just stays the same speed.

      Joined sky broadband november was getting speeds about 6000kbps to 7000kbps. Never had this problem with my old internet provider.


      Here are my stats


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3963246 3819215 0 19774 15673 48:41:33
      LAN 100M/Full 8212699 8070414 0 10506 10018 70:48:33
      WLAN 11M/54M 376796 308540 0 4164 383 23:19:58
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3296 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 14 db


      cheers
      thescotsman


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      Assuming you have the V1 router, can you post your detailed stats please? If you have one of the V2 routers then please reboot it and take the simple stats immediately.

      Looking at your noise margin there's a possibility you've been capped.
      Last edited by Saturday; 25-03-08 at 08:42 PM.

    4. #3
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      Hi it's the V2 that i have. Reset router

      here's the stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      LAN 100M/Full 499 607 0 3637 1290 00:01:17
      WLAN 11M/54M 238 26 0 952 42 00:01:04
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 13 db


      cheers
      thescotsman

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      If your downstream noise margin is 11db immediately after rebooting the router then that's a strong indicator (not 100% certain but near) that your connection has been capped.

      You'll need to call Sky, go through the "slow speed" troubleshooting and then get through to CST (was T3) who can uncap you.

    6. #5
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      Hi been in touch with sky about my connection problems. they got back to me today with a phone text saying connection problems have been fixed.


      here's my new stats since they were ment to fix it. check top of post for stats before fix.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6514 5570 0 13256 14630 00:03:41
      LAN 100M/Full 6039 7657 0 11512 10613 00:05:14
      WLAN 11M/54M 339 0 0 294 0 00:05:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2368 kbps 192 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 18 db 3 db




      thanks
      thescotsman

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      Typical - looks like they've kicked off an auto-reprofiling which has capped you even more heavily.

      As said previously, you'll need to call Sky, go through the "slow speed" troubleshooting and then get through to CST (was T3) who can uncap you. Best time to call is generally after 10:00 at night.

    8. #7
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      Hi been in touch with sky and the reply was this

      Thank you for contacting Sky Broadband Technical Support .

      After looking into your account our c ustomer solution team reconfigured your line to the best possible spe ed, which is 2380lbps. This is the maximum speed available to you du e to the distance you are away from the telephone exchange and the qu ality of your phone line.

      This is driving me up the wall .when i first signed up to sky broadband was getting 6500kbps now down to 2500kbps. I have changed extension cables and extension boxes changed filters also changed master socket to the one with test socket. i have changed this faceplate to the XTE-2005 professional faceplate and the distance from the exchange is 1.4km away from my house.

      need help what else can i do to get this sorted


      stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 245385 185554 0 3325 541 15:29:53
      LAN 100M/Full 458359 526836 0 3901 5506 19:15:18
      WLAN 11M/54M 122714 91474 0 1495 102 19:15:04
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2368 kbps 192 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 3 db


      cheers
      thescotsman

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      DON'T do it by email as it will continue to happen - bite the bullet and call...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      there is still something wrong with your line, looking at your upstream noise margin and connection ?

      could you just confirm your wiring set up ?

    11. #10
      pntalbot8's Avatar
      pntalbot8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds

      I am on `MID` and 1.5 miles from Exch--similiar to you, but I get :
      Downstream connection of 7840 kbps/ Upstream 416 kbps. Attenuation = 35 dbs, Noise margin 7.9 dbs. I get a regular DownSpeed of 6576 kbps and Upspeed of 324 kbps.Had Sky B/Band 6 months never any Faults, brilliant all for 5 per month.
      Last edited by pntalbot8; 29-03-08 at 01:10 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION