Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Constant router reboots

    This is a discussion on Constant router reboots within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been having problems with my Sky connection (see thread http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...ing-times.html ), I'm running Mossywell's app to monitor things and ...

    1. #1
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Constant router reboots

      I've been having problems with my Sky connection (see thread Slow page loading times), I'm running Mossywell's app to monitor things and it keeps getting time-outs and rebooting the router. I find web pages very slow to load and quite often they won't appear at all or will get halfway through and then just stop. It's not just on this computer either, I've got another desktop and a laptop connected to the router and they all have the same problem.

      Someone suggested it may be a DNS issue, so I changed to OpenDNS on this machine and left the other two. Unfortunately it's made no difference.

      To my untrained eye my line stats look fine (see below). I've got custom commands to force a G.DMT connection and have an attenuation of 22dB and a SNR of 9.6dB. This gives me a connection of 8928kbps.

      Here are my line stats when I force the router to use G.DMT, I've also included stats for a reboot in ADSL2+ for comparison with no custom commands. Both were taken at roughly the same time. The post continues below stats:

      ========
      Router stats in G.DMT
      ========

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8928 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 22.0 15.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.6
      Max(Kbps): 9504 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 8928 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 280(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 65 68
      B: 110 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 4 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.2283 7.7037
      L: 4239 216
      D: 128 8
      Counters
      SF: 28875 28873
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 3927138 245420
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 10344029 0
      Data Cells: 34914 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 41 16
      Total time = 9 min 40 sec
      SF = 28875
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 40 sec
      SF = 28875
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 40 sec
      SF = 28875
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      So here is the second bunch of stats when not using custom commands. Again, stats look good, SNR of 8.9dB and an attenuation of 26dB, syncing at 15490kbps! Should be an ideal position to be in, but something just isn't right with my connection.... what can it be?

      ========
      Router stats in ADSL2+
      ========

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15490 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.9 13.5
      Attn(dB): 26.0 14.6
      Pwr(dBm): 896.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15568 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15490 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 111(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 128 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 64 68
      B: 110 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 4 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.2287 7.7037
      L: 4231 216
      D: 128 8
      Counters
      SF: 5867 5865
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 1642984 49852
      RSCorr: 172 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3462001 130655
      Data Cells: 6344 1515
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 1 min 54 sec
      SF = 5867
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 54 sec
      SF = 5867
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 54 sec
      SF = 5867
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Just done a quick speed test on the Sky User speed checker. In ADSL2+ I got speeds of roughly 1Mbps, in G.DMT it was averaging 7Mbps. Don't know what that signifies, if anything.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 65 68
      B: 110 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 4 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.2283 7.7037
      L: 4239 216
      D: 128 8
      the RED number looks very strange to me AFAIK it should be 64 ? could be the reason for your problems, maybe someone a bit more in the know will be on later and can confirm

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Constant router reboots

      That 128 value is just the interleave depth. It is usually 64 (or sometimes less on slower lines), but it won't do any harm at 128.

      Does the connection run slowly regardless of what time of day it is? If it's mainly a problem at night or around dusk, then maybe it's the same kind of problem I have where once I start getting errors, the error rate just gets higher and higher until the connection has almost 100% errors.

    6. #5
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      It does it all the time, but it seems particularly bad in the evenings. To the point where the router reboots, shows the connection is back up again, and then seconds later reboots again. You can't get anything done because the connection is only up for such short periods of time. It's actually in the middle of a reboot cycle as I'm typing this, I'll have to wait until it's back up again to post it......... dum de dum...... tap, tap, tap..... still waiting..... doob de dooo..... sigh...... ah, here we are, better be quick, who knows how long I've got this time!

    7. #6
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      maybe try leaving it on adsl2+ for a day or two and see if errors start cropping up

      edit: does the entire router reboot? or is it just a connection drop?

      edit: are you sure its not just mossywells tool thats causing the router to reboot.... it reboots the router itself when your snr goes low
      Last edited by Devil_Spawn; 25-03-08 at 01:36 PM.

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Constant router reboots

      You could always try giving the CU2.04 firmware a go. It works a treat for me.

    9. #8
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      You could always try giving the CU2.04 firmware a go. It works a treat for me.
      Well with news of the new firmware rolling out, I don't want to do anything that might jeopardise that process.

      However, I have serious concerns about the new firmware making my connection unusable. If Mossywells app doesn't work after the upgrade then I will be stuck on ADSL2+ with appalling speeds (although theoretically good line stats and sync) as demonstrated above. That's why I have been using it up to now to force the router to connect in G.DMT mode.

    10. #9
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Quote Originally Posted by Devil_Spawn View Post
      maybe try leaving it on adsl2+ for a day or two and see if errors start cropping up

      edit: does the entire router reboot? or is it just a connection drop?

      edit: are you sure its not just mossywells tool thats causing the router to reboot.... it reboots the router itself when your snr goes low
      It's Mossywells app that reboots the router automatically when it gets http timeouts. The SNR is 7.5dB at the moment and attenuation is 22dB, I've synced at 8928kbps and this is peak time so everything should be fine.... except it's not. Web pages are still painfully slow to connect and the Mossywell app is in another of its reboot cycles!

      I just wish I knew what could be causing such poor performance!

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      could you just run the router as "normal" without mucking around with any of the settings, leave it to run until tomorrow then post back the detailed stats

      the stats you posted earlier were both for a very short period of time and gave no real indication of your line

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION