Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Constant router reboots

    This is a discussion on Constant router reboots within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I can try, but the connection is pretty much useless and I can't be very productive. I'll reboot the router ...

    1. #11
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      I can try, but the connection is pretty much useless and I can't be very productive. I'll reboot the router now in normal ADSL2+ mode without any tinkering and shut down Mossywells app. I'll see how it goes!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Well I've done that now and here are the detailed stats after the the reboot:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13772 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.1 13.5
      Attn(dB): 26.0 14.6
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13776 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13772 764

      Left the rest of it out because it's only been live for 1 min so seemed a bit pointless. I'll post back with more on this tomorrow!

    4. #13
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Here are the results after 15 hours uptime, also ran a speed test:



      That's 663kb/s on a supposedly good 13Mbps connection! It's a bit of a different story to the speed test in my signature that was done some time ago. What's happened to my connection?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13772 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.6 13.5
      Attn(dB): 26.0 14.6
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13776 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13772 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 110 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5529 7.7037
      L: 3689 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3441744 3441742
      SFErr: 92 1
      RS: 399242314 29254807
      RSCorr: 2970008 620756997
      RSUnCorr: 2928 0

      HEC: 90 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1792823265 99472390
      Data Cells: 11218153 732069
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 59 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 15 hours 20 min 15 sec
      SF = 3441744
      CRC = 92
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 59
      Latest 1 day time = 15 hours 20 min 15 sec
      SF = 3441744
      CRC = 92
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 59
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 15 sec
      SF = 19639
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56109
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56172
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56109
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56109
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #14
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      your not wireless are you ?

      could you also do a speed test on the skyuser and post back

    6. #15
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Yes I am wireless, but wireless is connected at 54Mbps with excellent signal.

      Sky User speed test reported speed was 784kbps download and 642kbps upload.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      just cause signal says 54mbps, doesn't mean it's gonna achieve same speeds as wired...

      give it a go wired and hopefully you'll see it jump back up...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      any chance you could do a wired test ? as wireless is your problem

      i can see no problems with your last set of stats that would cause any problems upto router

      as someone as said on here before, signal strenth and signal quality are 2 different things, you may have an excellent signal that has **** quality

    9. #18
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Hmm, I could try a wired connection. It's annoying if that is the case because I used to have a wired network installed but it was taken out when I switched to wireless. It seemed more convenient to be wire free at the time.

      It won't be possible to do it through this PC because it's too far away from the router (upstairs). I will see if I can get some CAT5 and try it out with my laptop.

      Is there some way of testing my wireless network to see how that is performing?

    10. #19
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Is there some way of testing my wireless network to see how that is performing?
      Pretty poorly acording to your speed tests

      i suppose you have tried all the normal things: changing channel, moving router position, moving dect phones away from router, ect, ect

    11. #20
      Luffer's Avatar
      Luffer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant router reboots

      Yeah, it would seem so. Connected my laptop via Cat5, got a speed test result of nearly 12Mbps! That's much better.

      Can't really move the router, if I put it in the master socket then all my PCs struggle to pick up the signal. Changing the channel might be an option but I don't know how to do that? Is it just a case of changing it in the router and all the devices will detect the change or will they all lose the connection? It's just that some things like my network HDD will be a massive PITA to reconfigure manually. I don't really know how to change the channel on any of my devices which include, 2 x PCs, laptop, Xbox360, Wii, Nintendo DS, PSP, Slingbox, network HDD, wireless network bridge and mobile phone. That's a lot of devices and also part of the reason why I went wireless, it's much easier to connect them all!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION