Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Phone rings randomly

    This is a discussion on Phone rings randomly within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hoping someone might be able to help me. I've just had skybroadband activated on friday and everything seems to be ...

    1. #1
      Bensky's Avatar
      Bensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Phone rings randomly

      Hoping someone might be able to help me. I've just had skybroadband activated on friday and everything seems to be fine with the broadband connection.

      However, my phone keeps ringing, every 10 mins or so and for one or two rings at a time, whenever I am using the internet. If anyone tries to ring me it just rings once then cuts out. The only way I can seem to stop this is if I disconnect the phone line or internet connection. Both are hooked up to the filter, which is attached to the master line.

      I dont know whether this is just the phone line 'sorting itself out' or what but any help would much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Phone rings randomly

      Have you tried changing the filter? Also remember that everything has to be filtered, including digiboxes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Bensky's Avatar
      Bensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone rings randomly

      Cheers for the response

      Yes I have just changed filters again and still rings.

      Does the digibox have to be connected to the line or can it be left unconnected? Its just that the box is a fair distance from the phone line.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Phone rings randomly

      Within the 12 month TV contract the digibox should be connected to the phone, according to Sky T & Cs. Unless you have multi room, I don't think Sky bother too much. If you have multi room, it is a must or you risk being cut off.

      It is possible you have a fault on your line or it could be a faulty phone. If you have hardwired extensions you could try plugging in to the Test socket behind the master socket face plate. This would disable your extensions and isolate them from the main line. You could also try using a different phone.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Bensky's Avatar
      Bensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone rings randomly

      Could it be possible that sky is trying to communicate with the digibox and as it is not connected it is ringing the phone instead? Just a thought, probabaly not a good one but a thought nonetheless.

      Also, whats the best way to check for a faulty line?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Phone rings randomly

      I think Sky do their checking during the night and it is unlikely to go on constantly.

      You can only check your internal wiring by doing what I outline above. If the problem still persists, you would have to report a fault to whoever you pay your phone rental to.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Bensky's Avatar
      Bensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone rings randomly

      Thanks for the info. I have just tried changing phones and line does ring properly although there seems to be a lot of noise. However this could just be because the phone is old and battered.

      Dont want to tempt fate, but its also not rang randomly...yet, so fingers crossed!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION