Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41

    Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

    This is a discussion on Is my stupidly low speed a cap? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Downstream: 512 Upstream: 128 Is this a cap? I moved from Orange to Sky, for the first few months with ...

    1. #1
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Downstream: 512
      Upstream: 128

      Is this a cap?
      I moved from Orange to Sky, for the first few months with Sky i had about ~3meg but it seems to have dropped.
      Anything i should do?

      Any help is appreciated, i finally thought i got rid of the slow internet that annoyed me for years but now it comes back!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Post your router stats and someone will help.
      You are using the V1 router so mognuts will work.
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4


    4. #3
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Sorry, i didn't fill that in properly. I have the black Sagem Sky router.

      Here is the Statistics page:

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      You have a rather high att of 61, however you should still be able to sync higher than that. The high downstream noise margin does suggest a cap which sky have probably done because of errors.
      Are those stats taken from the test socket ? If not post another set from there.
      Check these posts for further info on how to improve things
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained
      Cabling and faceplate help - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!


    6. #5
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Ok, thanks for the help.
      There is only one net socket in my house, i pulled the rest out (properly of course).
      So the router is plugged in downstairs into the master socket, is the master test socket something i can find by unscrewing the cover?
      If so, i will do that tomorrow and post the results.

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Also, have you spoken to sky recently about speed issues (phone or email) as this sometimes leads to a cap

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      If you have no hardwired extensions, plugging in to the test socket should make very little difference. When you are plugged in to the master are you plugging the filter in first? ie, nothing, like a two way splitter connecting a digibox is bypassing the filter. Phone Sky, tell them you have improved your internal wiring and would like your line re-graded.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      OK, after realising the phone wiring in my house is a joke i cleaned up the wiring and pulled out an old unused second line.
      No noise reduction or speed increase, after replacing the filter none too. In my house there is just 1 master socket,no extensions but there is no test socket under the master too.
      Still at 512, so i phoned Sky and asked and they just said my speed was this slow because of my distance from the exchange - i told him that i used to get speeds of 3000 but he just told me the speed was probably reduced because more people are on the exchange. Broadband in the UK is so crap, Britain's old and knakered BT lines cant cope i guess.

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      They are fobbing you off. You need to speak to CST to get the cap lifted and then they can assess. The best time to contact them is late at night. This thread explains things and shows that unless your line is in a really poor connection your attenuation should support between 2500 - 3000kbps.
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained


    11. #10
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Thanks for the glimer of hope!
      I hate how when i read on the internet about this then phone them up it becomes totally different and they make it seem like everything i say is wrong.
      What is CST and how can i contact them?
      Thank you guys so much for the help!

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION