Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 41

    Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

    This is a discussion on Is my stupidly low speed a cap? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I don't want to worry you but it does not look so good. Where were you plugged into when you ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      I don't want to worry you but it does not look so good. Where were you plugged into when you took these? You see, the first stats you posted indicated that you had a noise margin of 20.1 dbs, which meant you had plenty overhead for increased speed over your 512kbps. Your latest stats show a speed of 448kbps with a margin of only 6.7dbs. This means that your line is performing at it's maximum. Something has changed drastically in the line condition from your first to your latest stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?


      I thought it was normal for the noise margin to move?
      The stats taken in my first set of screen shots - i didn't think the noise had changed that drastically?

      Nothing has changed this end, router plugged in to the master socket and there are no extensions in my house.

      I assumed the slower download speed was because they where working on the line or something?

      The cap has been removed by the look of it, they usually cap at byte-numbers like 512 and 128, now its more random so maybe it will get higher in a while?
      Ahhh, i dunno.
      Last edited by GTom; 27-03-08 at 09:11 PM.

    4. #33
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Quote Originally Posted by GTom View Post

      I thought it was normal for the noise margin to move?
      Thats probably my fault, as I advised that it is normal for the noise margin to change which is true, but normally only by a couple of db. However as Isitme says your first stats showed a nm of 20ish which led me to think you were capped. The latest nm of 6ish suggests that the cap has been removed so theoretically the sync should have gone up. Maybe something else, I'm guessing now, faulty equipment, stuck profile is holding it back ?
      Get on to sky with that log no. and pester them.
      Last edited by dholdi; 27-03-08 at 09:19 PM.


    5. #34
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      I seeee.
      Well i don't know that much about these numbers, but where are you getting the noise margin from? From what i am seeing the noise margin only went down in upload by 1, and up in download by 1, i don't understand where the 20 to 6 change came from?

      Heres a photo of the inside of the master socket downstairs, is this ok? I know its not a standard master but we had 2 phone lines put in at one point (the second has now been removed).

    6. #35
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Quote Originally Posted by GTom View Post
      I seeee.
      Well i don't know that much about these numbers, but where are you getting the noise margin from? From what i am seeing the noise margin only went down in upload by 1, and up in download by 1, i don't understand where the 20 to 6 change came from?
      Post no.3 bottom left column adjacent to "noise margin"


    7. #36
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?


    8. #37
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Looking at the photo again, i assume the grey wire is going to the router, or is it an extension ? Where is the filter ?


    9. #38
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      Yeah there is a filter in, this type:



      Sky provided this filter to me:



      Ive tried both filters, same.

      Just swapped filters and gained a few KBs.
      Im not certain if it was actually due to the filters, but oh well.

      Last edited by GTom; 27-03-08 at 10:05 PM.

    10. #39
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      I thought the lower the Noise Margin the better, and i just looked on a website and now i realise that my Attenuation and Noise margin are all below the lowest recommendation's for even having a stable BB connection. Arrrrr! So i kinda feel like its impossible for me to get over 512kb now, maybe i was dreaming about having 3000kbps because according to some websites i looked at that speed should have been impossible with the ****ty line i have.

    11. #40
      GTom's Avatar
      GTom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my stupidly low speed a cap?

      WOOOOO!!

      Ok, since Sky removed my cap the speed has been going as high as it could (480kbps~), so i took another look at the master socket and saw some stray wires where touching the connectors, i disconnected all wires but 2 and 5 and reconnected:




      Im so happy!
      It isn't as fast as you guys im guessing but its 3x what i had before!
      Thanks so much for your help, i was right it was an unnecessary placed speed cap! (Note that the wires where all messed up and touching because i fiddled with it sometime in the first page).
      Thanks guys!!!!

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION