Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 36

    incredibly slow 8 meg

    This is a discussion on incredibly slow 8 meg within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; well i found my cabletel master socket, which unsurprisingly, was dormant. i took the faceplate off the originally described socket, ...

    1. #11
      adas1023's Avatar
      adas1023 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      well i found my cabletel master socket, which unsurprisingly, was dormant. i took the faceplate off the originally described socket, there was only a series of small wires behind the faceplate and nothing else. when i find it ill send my stats.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      also, as no one seems to have picked up on this, you seem to be on Connect (448 upload)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      ^^^whoops, i had noticed just forgot to mention it
      (was waiting for the revised stats, and its why i said there would be no more speed straight away from the test socket, but should have said it at the time)

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      The box shown in your image is an ADSL faceplate, probably a BT Version 1. The only proper access you will have to the ADSL signal is by plugging directly into the smaller socket with the router lead(RJ11). You do not need a filter. The other sockets in your house are already filtered so will not give a proper ADSL signal which is why your speed is so bad. You can try removing the faceplate, as has been suggested, and plug a filter into the socket behind the face plate. This will check if the ADSL faceplate is working properly.
      Last edited by Isitme; 24-03-08 at 11:37 AM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      I hope you are right Isitme, but back at post 9 Adas said it only stuck out about 1cm so I think it may be a double socket of some kind.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      a proper photo would obviously help in this situation...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      I think it is probably an 'in the plaster' type with most of the linebox buried in the wall. But true enough, if the scale is not correct it could simply be a dual outlet extension.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      adas1023's Avatar
      adas1023 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      sorry ill post a pic in a minute
      i just noticed that utorrent seems to think that im constantly downloading with another program at exactly 1000 kb/s
      Last edited by adas1023; 25-03-08 at 05:23 PM.

    10. #19
      adas1023's Avatar
      adas1023 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg



      dont worry about the lack of a micro filter in the pic, the phone and the modem are both on extentions with their own micro filters, i tried having them both on one microfilter and it made no difference.

      i literally tore the ouse apart looking for a non dormant jack that looks like the one in your pic, there is one more to check but its behind a wardrobe, if it works ill say so.
      Last edited by adas1023; 25-03-08 at 11:22 PM.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: incredibly slow 8 meg

      It appears to be an older type Master socket. However the box next to it looks like an NTE5 and there seems to be a wire coming from it into the double socketed box. I assume this is your old cable master, but why is there a wire coming out of it into your BT box? If this is connected to the cable circuit, it could cause all sorts of problems. It is possible of course that it is the BT supply, using the same duct but not connected to the cable circuit. You can only find this out by removing the front of the cable box and having a look. Maybe Brian can throw more light on the subject.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION