Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 41

    Slow speed

    This is a discussion on Slow speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thank you to everyone who has helped in this post. I have contact them by email. Thank you...

    1. #31
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Thank you to everyone who has helped in this post. I have contact them by email.

      Thank you


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Since that day I opened the main socket ... the phones are really quite you can barely hear anything and the internet cuts out every 1 hour ... I think I messed something up

    4. #33
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Hi Case.
      Your wiring needs sorting out, Call BT and explain you have a voice fault, don't mention BB to them.

    5. #34
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      They came and sort it out they said it was all wrong now this is my speed



      Thanks guys but a new problem my phone line is hissing you cant hear it on the old phones that arent digital but the cordless digital ones you can its very bad, any suggestions?

      Thanks

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Do you have filters on all of them? Remember you must have filters on everything that is connected to the phone line, including digiboxes, unless you are connecting the router through an ADSL face plate. Try plugging one of the 'hissing' phones directly into the Test socket, is the hissing still there?

      Also try turning off the wireless in the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Sorry how do I turn this off ?

      Will install filters into everything

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Open the router settings page, put http://192.168.0.1 in the address bar of a browser(or click this link). When the box comes up put admin as the username and sky as the password. Then go to the wireless settings an untick the box next to Enable Wireless Access Point.

      Are you using an enormous wide screen?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Nope, why? Just a regular 19" (1024x768)

      Seems like I switched the wireless off myself when getting the router at first was just playing around with the wireless settings unticking all, because I wanted it off.

      Everything now has a filter ... still hissing, but only the digital phones

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Did you try the phone in the Test socket?

      I asked about your monitor, as when I reply to your thread the screen immediately expands to twice the size of mine, so I have to use the Scroll bar to centre it. As soon as I submit it drops back to normal. I have a 22" widescreen. Strange this is the only thread effected. I wonder if the photo posted earlier has anything to do with it?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #40
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Weird it does that for me aswell. BT have recently come down to fix all my wiring and the test socket does removing the hissing ... im sure all the wiring is ok then and the hissing was before they came and fixed it.

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION