Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 41

    Slow speed

    This is a discussion on Slow speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No. The dailing tone completly goes through everything Thanks...

    1. #21
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      No. The dailing tone completly goes through everything

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Right, connect up your router to the test socket. what do you get then (you know when you are in the test socket because all other telephone sockets should stop working.

    4. #23
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      When removing the plate all phones have no dailing tone, also when the router is in the test socket we cannot use the phones allthough the router dails up to the internet in the test socket fine.

    5. #24
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      That is how it should be. You need to check the speed at the test socket to see if your internal wiring is causing problems.

    6. #25
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Slow speed

      All the results for that post was done connected to to test socket

      Thanks

    7. #26
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Just to be clear, you are not using an extension lead to connect to the test socket?. As everyone has said ,your sync should be much higher, and an extension lead may be the problem.

    8. #27
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      The test socket has a filter at the enter with the phone line for the router at the end and that is it.

      Thanks

    9. #28
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      no chance of a picture of the socket and filter?

    10. #29
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Sure.



      Not too sure why it turned out fuzzy, but you can still see it.

      Thanks

    11. #30
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Hi Case.
      All is now clear. you will need to get Openreach in to sort your internal wiring. The green lead to 3 on the faceplate is the give away. Somewhere there are extensions wired and the line has been taken from A and B of the master (or at some other junction box somewhere) and the ring line has been back feed from the master (this is the green lead to 3). this means that ther are still internal wire connected when the faceplate is removed and this is the cause of your slow speeds

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION