Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

    This is a discussion on Help my netgear router is driving me mad! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello everyone, I'm new here! I've had sky broadband a few weeks and I'm finding it impossible to get consistant ...

    1. #1
      stewie_griffin's Avatar
      stewie_griffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      Hello everyone, I'm new here!

      I've had sky broadband a few weeks and I'm finding it impossible to get consistant internet connection.

      Once I'm online everything is okay, but sometimes I cannot connect even if all the lights are green. I have tried restarting my computer/rebooting the router and sometimes it works, sometimes not. I am connected to the test phone socket, and although the length of cable is not ideal, I had no problems with my old talktalk usb device.

      What drives me mad is that once online, everything is okay, then the following morning can't get on or sometimes the amber light just stays on. Is it a faulty router/connection/line or do the settings need changing on my PC?

      Help me obi-wan-skyuser you're my only hope!

      All the best,

      Stewie.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      although the length of cable is not ideal
      would that be an extention lead ?

      if so, you could try with the router next to the socket (could you confim ?)

      and just to check your not wireless are you ?

    4. #3
      stewie_griffin's Avatar
      stewie_griffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      would that be an extention lead ?

      if so, you could try with the router next to the socket (could you confim ?)

      and just to check your not wireless are you ?
      Hi, yes the extension lead (that the sky engineer fitted) goes from my hall to other end of my room. I am wireless and did plug the router straight into the socket but once again it was hit and miss with the amber light staying on etc. So since then I have used the ethernet cable.

      I thought it may be the quality of the line so I phoned BT who quickly advised I rent my line off Sky so speak to them! Sky say my line is okay.

      What I can't understand is when the little bubble comes up to say I'm connected on the task bar and yet I can't get onto the internet????

      Thanks for your swift reply - any help is REALLY appreciated.

      Stewie.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      firstly could you check all items that need to be plugged into the phone sockets around your house have a filter, including the sky box

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      .......and if at all possible, stop using the extension supplied by Sky TV, they are good enough for a phone but not a good ADSL connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      kpax88's Avatar
      kpax88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      Sky fitted that in for your television or phone... Broadband/Router HAS to be in the main socket otherwise this is why you are getting a dropping connection!

    8. #7
      stewie_griffin's Avatar
      stewie_griffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      Many thanks for your advice. It is very much appreciated. Now heres a quirky thing. If I leave the pc turned on, then remove the internet line from the back of the router and then put it back in, it seems to work first time. Do you think this indicates conflicting settings on my PC?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help my netgear router is driving me mad!

      Unplug the Digibox for a while and see what happens. Many have problems with these. Sky don't worry to much unless you have multi room and even then they will give you a few days without contacting you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION