Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Is this excessive?

    Voters
    27. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      19 70.37%
    • No

      4 14.81%
    • WOW

      4 14.81%
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    High User - Capping?

    This is a discussion on High User - Capping? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Firstly, Haven't been on here in a while. Just finished moving house (again ) and been busy with my GCSEs. ...

    1. #1
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      High User - Capping?

      Firstly, Haven't been on here in a while. Just finished moving house (again ) and been busy with my GCSEs.

      The transfer of lines completed on Friday (Broadband had still been working at the old house until then), all went pretty smoothly, speed on Be* and Sky have been excellent (2.5Mb Upload on Be*! )

      Here were Sky stats taken when the lines moved over:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15946 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.5 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 7.0 db

      Speedtest:
      Download Speed: 15546 kbps (1943.3 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 760 kbps (95 KB/sec )

      Needless to say, I carried on using it as normal. Torrenting etc.

      Until this morning, I checked my seeds and they were only running at about 15kB. Upon checking the stats, Something unusual:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 416 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 6.5 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 7.3 db

      Everything looks normal on the basis of attenuation etc. Cross checking with Be* those are still the same (Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 2,599 / 24,780).
      Checking the voicemail on the phone suggests that this may be down to Sky's doing, A message from Graham (Graem) says "Hi, This is Graham calling from Sky's Broadband Abuse department, Its regarding Broadband Account "Insert Account Number Here". It would be appreciated if you could contact Sky as soon as possible. Thank You."


      Checking the usage (http://i27.tinypic.com/x4mana.png) this is pretty much average. So I was wondering, Does anyone know if Sky has started taking a stance on heavy users?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      395 Gb in 11 days

      I am not surprised you are being warned, even with an 'unlimited' download there is the FUP to consider.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Yeah, That is understandable. But this has been pretty much the "norm" for the past ~14+ months. So I was just wondering that if Sky is taking a stance, Is there any particular reason they have decided to do so now. When they could have done it previously?

    5. #4
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      757
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: High User - Capping?

      hi there what program are you using to record you usage stats (in the picture) can it be downloaded

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Yeah, it looks like they may be starting a clamp down, probably starting with the 'over a terrabyte downloaders'. What on earth do you find to download that much? You must have enormous disks if you keep it all.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Keiran, is that just the sky totals ? do you also download on the Be and VM lines ?

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Hi commandercarr, The software I am using is DuMeter. It is downloadable free with a 30 Day trial. Its about 13 (if I remember correctly) to buy a license.

      Isitme, I don't download "much". Most of it is HD rips of TV shows for the Apple TV (which is Uber Cool) and other HD stuff, I have about ~2TB NASs full of stuff. Another 2TB on order (Pretty cheap on Ebuyer)

      Hi Richone, Nope. This is just for the Sky connection.

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Quite possibly, there was a big article in NewScientist last year how bandwidth costs for ISP's are soaring with increases in applications that gobble up bandwidth and with nearly 1.5 million customers Sky may be targeting big bandwith users.

      Although to my mind the "unlimited" part of the package makes me laugh something is unlimited in use or it isn't you can't stick in something like the "fair use policy" and claim that the package is unlimited.

      Of course due to the paper tigers that is Ofcom and the ASA they haven't managed to step in and make the ISP's be accurate in their advertising, I'd rather have Sky say that there is a limit of say 100 gig on max and have a target to meet rather than this vauge "fair use" which means "what we feel like at the time".
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Have you rang them to find out?

      That's a lot of data being transferred, they may be worried you have a trojan running etc.

      That's more than I have downloaded in about 5 years.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by Keiran2K8 View Post
      Here were Sky stats taken when the lines moved over:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15946 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.5 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 7.0 db

      Until this morning, I checked my seeds and they were only running at about 15kB. Upon checking the stats, Something unusual:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 416 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 6.5 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 7.3 db

      Checking the voicemail on the phone suggests that this may be down to Sky's doing, A message from Graham (Graem) says "Hi, This is Graham calling from Sky's Broadband Abuse department
      It looks as though there are two things going on to me.

      From your stats it would appear you have been capped but only lightly and you've been moved to G.DMT hence the downstream attenuation change. Had you been capped from 16meg down to half a meg then your noise margin should be massively higher. In fact your noise margin has dropped. This would normally point to a fault having developed in your line (either your home wiring (probable) or the BT line). Mind you, stats get rather odd when looking at such a low attenuation line and the normal linkage between sync and margin gets a bit flaky, so who knows. If you have a NTE5 master socket, see what sync you get with the test socket hidden inside. That may give some clues if the noise margin jumps dramatically.

      If I'm right then this sudden drop in sync has nothing to do with abuse wanting to talk to you.
      Last edited by Saturday; 16-03-08 at 05:39 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION