Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Is this excessive?

    Voters
    27. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      19 70.37%
    • No

      4 14.81%
    • WOW

      4 14.81%
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    High User - Capping?

    This is a discussion on High User - Capping? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK. False Alarm guys It turned out, Sky was only contacting us to confirm that the bandwidth we was using ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High User - Capping?

      OK. False Alarm guys

      It turned out, Sky was only contacting us to confirm that the bandwidth we was using was what we were actually using and to confirm that we didn't have any trojans or anything.

      As for the speed problem, It turns out it is a "HR", "High Resistance", "High Open" fault on the BT line, A problem with the installation somewhere on the BT network. I wonder if the Home Secretary is trying to tap in lol.. (She lives two doors away).

      Thanks for all your comments guys!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by Keiran2K8 View Post

      As for the speed problem, It turns out it is a "HR", "High Resistance", "High Open" fault on the BT line
      Thought so - your stats weren't right for a heavily capped line. However, I still think you have been capped (those sync figures are common capped figures) so when your line is sorted you may have to call Sky to get uncapped. You'll know when it is sorted as if capped your noise margin will rise dramatically but the sync will not go back to what it was.

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by Keiran2K8 View Post
      Firstly, Haven't been on here in a while. Just finished moving house (again ) and been busy with my GCSEs.

      The transfer of lines completed on Friday (Broadband had still been working at the old house until then), all went pretty smoothly, speed on Be* and Sky have been excellent (2.5Mb Upload on Be*! )

      Here were Sky stats taken when the lines moved over:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15946 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.5 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 7.0 db

      Speedtest:
      Download Speed: 15546 kbps (1943.3 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 760 kbps (95 KB/sec )

      Needless to say, I carried on using it as normal. Torrenting etc.

      Until this morning, I checked my seeds and they were only running at about 15kB. Upon checking the stats, Something unusual:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 416 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 6.5 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 7.3 db

      Everything looks normal on the basis of attenuation etc. Cross checking with Be* those are still the same (Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 2,599 / 24,780).
      Checking the voicemail on the phone suggests that this may be down to Sky's doing, A message from Graham (Graem) says "Hi, This is Graham calling from Sky's Broadband Abuse department, Its regarding Broadband Account "Insert Account Number Here". It would be appreciated if you could contact Sky as soon as possible. Thank You."


      Checking the usage (http://i27.tinypic.com/x4mana.png) this is pretty much average. So I was wondering, Does anyone know if Sky has started taking a stance on heavy users?

      Thanks.

      Added a poll - cannot believe that Sky are not bothered about this much data being downloaded on their network.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      It's people like this that will cause us all to end up with traffic shaping and bandwidth limits being inforced!

    6. #15
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      ^^^^^ couldnt agree more


    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High User - Capping?

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      It's people like this that will cause us all to end up with traffic shaping and bandwidth limits being inforced!
      No! I blame the ISP. (To an extent)

      If the ISPs are/were all prepared to define "excessive" then a High-End user would obviously go to an ISP which is able to support the High-End users better. Thus, making it fairer for low end users.

      At the end of the day, unless an ISP is prepared to come out and say, We define FUP/Excessive at 300Gb or whatever, (At 300Gb our network can't handle it.. Bla bla) only at that point will a high-end user be able to move to a better suited ISP. Why would anyone (at the moment) move from a 10 per month, to a 30+ a month when there isn't "any" real reason to do so.

      But yeah, I understand where you are coming from Hence Multiple ISPs = Load Balancing (Got to get that Ratio up )

      *Nice Poll

      Edit: I think the fault has been fixed:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16186 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 6.5 db 5.0 db
      Noise Margin 18.4 db 9.0 db
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 17-03-08 at 09:09 AM.

    8. #17
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      how much do you download in the average month ??

      the figures where for 11 days
      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T


    9. #18
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High User - Capping?

      I could easily do 1TB.. Based on the 11 Day averaging, 1114GB (1.1?TB).

      But I guess I will have to cut back, Becuase it "isn't fair".

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      I must say I am a bit surprised that you are inviting Sky to penalize you when you say you also have a Be Pro connection and a VM-VIP package, which are a great deal faster and are supposed to be truly 'unlimited'. Surely 'spreading the load' would be sensible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Kbramman's Avatar
      Kbramman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dulwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High User - Capping?

      To be honest, I don't have a problem with this.

      If I could be arsed to setup my system to output to hd (or got a hd monitor) then I to would be downloading HD tv shows. I don't, I just grab the normal ones, but this month alone I'm at about 250gb (though my month runs 18-17 on my monitor)

      Yeah 1tb is a lot, but until sky admit that they have a FUP, tell everyone what it is, and provide a means of tracking this across the router not each indivual computer there isn't much they can do, not without having a fight on their hands!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION