Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Does this look ok?

    This is a discussion on Does this look ok? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Migration went fine this afternoon, using the 934 router (wired). Does this look ok? Modem Status Connected DownStream Connection ...

    1. #1
      Punkrocker62's Avatar
      Punkrocker62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSKIW
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kilwinning
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Does this look ok?

      Hello,

      Migration went fine this afternoon, using the 934 router (wired).
      Does this look ok?

      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 16379 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Speed test
      Download Speed: 9274 kbps (1159.3 KB/sec )
      Upload Speed: 639 kbps (79.9 KB/sec )

      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 19 db

      cheers
      "Some mornings, it's just not worth
      chewing through the leather straps."



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Does this look ok?

      Connection looks great

      throughput looks a little low, keep testing at different times of the day over the next few days and post back
      (could just be the server is busy)

    4. #3
      Punkrocker62's Avatar
      Punkrocker62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSKIW
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kilwinning
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Does this look ok?

      Thanks, I will do a couple over weekend and see what its like at beginning of next week.
      Thanks for your help

      cheers
      "Some mornings, it's just not worth
      chewing through the leather straps."


    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Does this look ok?

      If you haven't already done so and you are running XP, download and run TCPOptimiser you could see an immediate improvement in your download speed. XP is not very well optimised for Broadband. Remember to use your connection speed (16379) as the start figure and not your download speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Punkrocker62's Avatar
      Punkrocker62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSKIW
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kilwinning
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Does this look ok?

      Thank you, well that certainly worked
      Today 20:50 14103 kbps (1.76MB/s) 589 kbps (73.6kB/s)

      Should I run this program on the other 3 PC on the network?

      Many thanks
      "Some mornings, it's just not worth
      chewing through the leather straps."


    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Does this look ok?

      Unless you are using Vista on any of them a BIG yes

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Punkrocker62's Avatar
      Punkrocker62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSKIW
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kilwinning
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs up Re: Does this look ok?

      Again, thank you, all are now optimzed

      cheers
      Last edited by Punkrocker62; 15-03-08 at 09:54 AM.
      "Some mornings, it's just not worth
      chewing through the leather straps."


    9. #8
      Punkrocker62's Avatar
      Punkrocker62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSKIW
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kilwinning
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Does this look ok?

      Hello again :-)

      Just a quickie, speeds seem solid and no real problems. My daughter brought home her laptop to do some studying and plugged it in to the router (wired) and just out of curiousity I tried a speedtest, funny thing was she was only getting 9000, the same as I was getting in XP before running TCPoptimizer! Any ideas why this should be the case, I thought Vista was meant to be fine without needing TCPoptimizer?

      cheers
      "Some mornings, it's just not worth
      chewing through the leather straps."


    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Does this look ok?

      meant to be fine without needing TCPoptimizer?
      Meant to be is the operative phrase. For some reason it does not always work. I must say that my Vista PC performs just as well as my Optimized XP ones, so personally I have no complaints.

      If you want to give it a try you can turn off Vista's Autotune by doing the following.

      Open an Administrators Command Prompt by clicking Start and typing CMD, when cmd.exe appears at the top of the list, right click it and select 'Run as Administrator'.

      Type everything in bold and hit enter.
      netsh interface tcp set global autotuning=disabled

      To check that it has been disabled type -
      netsh interface tcp show global

      You can now run TCPOptimiser, just as you would on XP. If you find it makes an improvement you can keep it like that. If it does not you can
      set back to the default Windows Vista Autotune by opening the Admin Command Prompt and typing:

      netsh interface tcp set global autotuningl=normal



      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Punkrocker62's Avatar
      Punkrocker62 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSKIW
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Kilwinning
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs up Re: Does this look ok?

      Thanks for that, here is the results

      Vista:-


      ADDED
      I put back to default as per your instructions, and its now up to 14111 the same as XP, whatever was out has now been put back in with resetting the defaults :-)

      Many thanks once again
      Last edited by Punkrocker62; 22-03-08 at 01:25 PM.
      "Some mornings, it's just not worth
      chewing through the leather straps."


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION