Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Should be on 3 meg

    This is a discussion on Should be on 3 meg within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have had my speed put down to 2 meg the website says i should be 3 is this a bit ...

    1. #1
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should be on 3 meg

      Have had my speed put down to 2 meg the website says i should be 3 is this a bit low?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      are you sure you have had your connection changed or has your router just synced at a lower speed ?

    4. #3
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      No they lowered it on tier 2 support and its got really bad at downloading anything now

    5. #4
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      why did CST cap your speed in the first instance, and how are you connected to the phone line.

    6. #5
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      Ive been capped due to constant disconnection between certain times.

      Im connected via wireless as i dont wont a 30ft yellow cable going from the hall to my computer.

    7. #6
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      To obtain your best speed try to connect to the master or and test socket and try a speed test.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      i dont wont a 30ft yellow cable going from the hall to my computer.
      It does not have to be yellow you know, Sky supply yellow ones so that their CS can say 'plug the yellow cable into the router....etc..' rather than 'plug the ethernet cable....which many may not understand. Here is a selection of Coloured Cables to suit any décor.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      i suspect that its the length rather than the colour of the lead lol isitme

    10. #9
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should be on 3 meg

      Its the length and they put me on 2 meg and I am connected to the master skt.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION