Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Broadband connection speed

    This is a discussion on Broadband connection speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi hope someone can help, have had problems for the last few months with sky broadband i was geting speeds ...

    1. #1
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband connection speed

      Hi hope someone can help, have had problems for the last few months with sky broadband i was geting speeds up to 7000kbps when i first joined sky . Now went right down to about 3000kbps. been in touch with sky about this problem.

      They sent out a new router black one got the master box changed to new type. Sky has configured my line to 5120kbps however they say my line is still displaying alot of errors. But i have spoken to BT and they say that there is nothing wrong with my line.

      My boadband still disconnects then we use the phone.


      my router stats are

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 118275 123104 0 43506 37635 00:33:09
      LAN 100M/Full 122859 130174 0 36617 46517 00:35:14
      WLAN 11M/54M 307 6 0 28 0 00:35:01
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5120 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 14 db


      cheers
      thescotsman


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      BT only look at the voice side as they are not supplying the BB service, Sky can see the stats on the router connection and can probably see errors etc creeping on to the line. How many telephone sockets have you got at your property and are they all in use?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      Have you tried plugging into the Test socket, behind the faceplate of the Master socket. If you show a much higher noise margin, your internal wiring is causing the problem. If your NM rises substantially it would probably pay to get an ADSL faceplate and plug directly into that. This isolates your internal wiring.

      In the mean time, disconnect the Ring wire from terminal 3 on the back of the face plate of your master socket. This serves no useful purpose when all phones and digiboxes are connected through filters and acts as an aerial which effects the ADSL signal. Your phones will still work, so don't worry about that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      Hi got 3 telephone sockets one master and 2 extensions HD sky box from master plus telephone. extensions are in both bed room one sky plus box the other standard sky box. got filters in both them changed filters when i got new black router the other day.


      cheers
      thescotsman

    6. #5
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      Have you got the sky tv plugged in before the microfilter?

    7. #6
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      Hi sky box pluged into filter then into phone socket.


      cheers
      thescotsman

    8. #7
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      Thats good have you tryed the test socket yet? As the majority of the problems arise from faulty wiring.

    9. #8
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      Hi rewired all extensions and replaced extensions sockets. broadband stays connected now , when i use the phone now. Wil have to get in touch with sky now to see if line is free from errors.

      Thinking about gettting one of the XTE 2005 faceplates, were can i pick one up from and will this help.

      stats now

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 45690 42400 0 40758 27088 00:14:24
      LAN 100M/Full 43759 49286 0 21848 34543 00:18:51
      WLAN 11M/54M 2967 2617 0 1214 204 00:18:38
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3520 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 13 db


      cheers
      thescotsman

    10. #9
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      see most problems lie in internal wiring lol

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband connection speed

      It looks like you have been capped even further by Sky. Please try plugging into the TEST socket, you may still have problems with your internal wiring.

      If you internal wiring is still dodgy, an ADSL Nation faceplate will isolate it and give you a trouble free line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION