Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

    This is a discussion on What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have SKY Talk / Broadband but I still pay a line rental to BT . So if the line ...

    1. #11
      jojomojo908's Avatar
      jojomojo908 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01252
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      I have SKY Talk / Broadband but I still pay a line rental to BT. So if the line was hanging in my garden I would ring BT it's their line not SKY's. They would fix it for free as it's there line and I have paid for the connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      please read the post properly i said if you pay your line rental to sky.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      The OP did say "So I have my line rental and broadband with sky,"

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      Is that right though, because on BT.com you can report line faults no matter if you are with them or are not so I would have thought BT would be the first port of call in situations like this as they maintain the lines.

    6. #15
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      ^^^ Well, yes & no. BT.com is a provider of telephony services and broadband, just like Sky. You can report a line fault there but only if you are a BT.com customer.

      The network is owned and maintained by BT Openreach which is a different part of the BT group. It is Openreach who deal with line faults when they are instructed by BT.com, Sky or anyone else who takes telephone line rental from their customers.

    7. #16
      Perseus's Avatar
      Perseus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      If you've got Sky Talk and got calls - Carrier Pre Select (ie calls, not line rental) in which case you'd need to call BT for line faults.

      If you've specifically ordered line rental through Sky, you'd need to ring them for a line fault as previous posters have already pointed out, Sky will liaise with BT-Openreach to resolve.

    8. #17
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What a joke...laugh if you wish!!!!! sky+BT

      If you're worried about privacy and calls going the wrong way, the company that you pay for line rental (Sky or BT) can enable call divert whilst the line is not working. This will divert any inbound calls to (for example) your mobile.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION