Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Max Delay

    This is a discussion on Max Delay within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I asked sky via email to reduce my Max Delay to 8. Instead they decided to cap my line to ...

    1. #1
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Max Delay

      I asked sky via email to reduce my Max Delay to 8. Instead they decided to cap my line to 999kbps. I was not happy, spent all of today trying to get it sorted out. The last call I just made they increased the maximum stable rate to 1998kbps, as the person on the phone said. They claim that my line can only do 512kbps, which is the figure that BT wholesale gives, not correct at all. My line normally syncs at 2800kbps and can go upto 3776kbps. They increased the cap on the line, but how do I get them to totally remove the cap and let the DSLAM and my modem negotiate the nest rate for my line. After all that is what I pay for, an up to 8 Meg service.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      if you have the white netgear router could you post your detailed stats.

      but how do I get them to totally remove the cap and let the DSLAM and my modem negotiate the nest rate for my line. After all that is what I pay for, an up to 8 Meg service.
      if they did this, you could end up not being able to use it at all ?

      lets have a look at the stats and go from there

    4. #3
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      Stats are as follows:

      Connection Speed 1984 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 17.0 db 14.0 db

      As you can see the line has got some space yet for a higher speed. The speed is limited. By which I mean, the DSLAM does not make a sync higher then the limit speed above. Which means even if I change the target SNR from the router it makes no difference as it connects at this speed. There is nothing wrong with the internal wiring, been tested from the NTE5 Test socket. The connection has been able to sync at 2800kbps, for over 14 months without any problems, although as soon as sky connected me, BT Wholesale checker claimed that the line could not do more then 512kbps, and even when I have rang sky they always said that the Max my line could do was that. The issue now is that they keep on saying that I am getting a better speed then I should, but I am getting a lower speed then I was getting.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      looking at your basic stats above, as you say you have been capped.
      they may have reduced the sync because of the lower depth setting (max delays),

      could you post some detailed stats (see second link in my sig and look for the mognuts utility)

    6. #5
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      Never got them from the utility you mention but via telnet. I assume its the information that you want.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1984 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 53.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.0 1.0
      Max(Kbps): 3368 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 1984 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 63(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 32 14
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.4848 17.0666
      L: 264 120
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 96521 96464
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 3281746 409972
      RSCorr: 1668 8
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 7678286 0
      Data Cells: 484647 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 17 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 145 0
      AS: 1641

      INP: 7.75 4.26
      PER: 1.96 1.86
      delay: 35.87 34.13
      OR: 28.54 30.00

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 20 hours 40 min 31 sec
      SF = 4366985
      CRC = 918
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES = 17
      Latest 1 day time = 20 hours 40 min 31 sec
      SF = 4366985
      CRC = 918
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES = 17
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 31 sec
      SF = 37111
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50914
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      thats the ones
      i am not sure from your stats if you have had any change to your max delays (i did think it was the D figure, on the GDMT it is 64 but on the ADSL2 its 32) as you are on GDMT i'm not sure what this indicates (if anything at all)
      It may be better to call sky and try to speak to CST (second level support, you will have to go through T1 first),
      also from your stats the max sync is 3368, if possible you should try a comparison from the test socket, your attenuation should give you a better max rate than you have(any chance you could post back the results)

    8. #7
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      The difference to the SNR is slight at the test socket, changes by around 0.5db. Which is suppose would be correct for the length of the extensions. These were the test socket results and the SNR only reduces by around 0.5db at the extensions. The internal wiring is all twisted pair and run clear of any CFL lighting and power cables. The cables run on the wall and not under the plaster.
      I got through to Tier 3, who would not increase the speed of the line more then 2 meg.

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Max Delay

      i can only assume T3 can see more errors on your line when they try to increase your speed (from looking at your stats i can see you do have some errors and you max connection speed does seem lower than your attenuation would allow)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION