Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Should I get 16mbit?

    This is a discussion on Should I get 16mbit? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; At the moment, I'm on mid and I get 7mbps, it says my recommened line speed is 6mbps with ADSL ...

    1. #1
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I get 16mbit?

      At the moment, I'm on mid and I get 7mbps, it says my recommened line speed is 6mbps with ADSL. my line attenuation is 24db. I put this in on that adsl2 line checker and it says

      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.
      If I got 16mbps would it be ADSL2?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      With an attenuation of 24 you should see 16mb ( actually 15323 limited by sky ) and yes you would have to be on adsl2+ to get it.


    4. #3
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      Okay, just upgraded. Thanks

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      BUT if you are not getting the full 8mb on mid its possible you have noise issues on your line. If you dont achieve the 16mb check out the wiring and faceplate threads.

    6. #5
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      My noise margin is 15db. is that good?

      also, do you know how long it should take to upgrade?

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      Not sure how long to upgrade, yes 15db is very good. Just curious if you line is that good why you are not getting a full 8mb on mid. As I said it could indicate line errors present.

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      Could be the 15.5 reporting bug - try a reboot and see what it reports then

      Ignore this - i've been drinking That should refer to att not nm
      A high nm of 15 would suggest a cap ?
      Last edited by dholdi; 07-03-08 at 01:31 AM.


    9. #8
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      With an attenuation of 24 you should see 16mb ( actually 15323 limited by sky ) and yes you would have to be on adsl2+ to get it.
      I get 16382kbps
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      ^ i assume you had the delays lowered...although in some rare cases lines show 16Mbps with no work
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I get 16mbit?

      Low connection speed + low attenuation + high noise margin = Line capped. As it stands at the moment you will be no better off, speed wise. You should plug in to the TEST socket and if your figures do not improve, (ie, you should sync at over 8000mb or your noise margin should rise quite a bit) you should reconsider upgrading as you will gain nothing except a higher upload speed and an unlimited download. If your figures do improve, you will have to do some work on your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION