Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

    This is a discussion on Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After 6 months of having to reboot every day (sometimes 2/3 times per day!) my Sky MAX now seems to ...

    1. #1
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      After 6 months of having to reboot every day (sometimes 2/3 times per day!) my Sky MAX now seems to be stable.

      Each day my connection would appear to lose it's authentication to the sky network. The router would remain sync'd but with no WAN IP address assinged.

      But since last weeks major outage my connection has now been stable for a FULL WEEK! (Touch wood!)

      Hopefully lots of other's have had similar luck!?
      BottyLad



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      Hmmmm...

      sounds more like an auto regrade to me, what do your router stats show ?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      the auto regrades are only used for slow connection mostly - wouldn't fix loss of IP issues
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      What's an auto regrade??

      Here are my stats....note i rebooted this morning as the electrician had to switch off the power in the house!!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 760 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15494 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.5 12.5
      Attn(dB): 31.5 18.7
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15568 860
      Rate (Kbps): 15494 760
      G.dmt framing
      K: 111(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 128 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 64 68
      B: 110 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 4 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.2287 7.7395
      L: 4232 215
      D: 128 8
      Counters
      SF: 1023815 1023813
      SFErr: 2249 1
      RS: 286668440 8702410
      RSCorr: 33137306 7
      RSUnCorr: 620502 0

      HEC: 71 0
      OCD: 43 0
      LCD: 2 0
      Total Cells: 597751350 29398702
      Data Cells: 810452 196856
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 60 1
      SES: 37 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 4 hours 33 min 32 sec
      SF = 1023815
      CRC = 2249
      LOS = 2427
      LOF = 0
      ES = 60
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 33 min 32 sec
      SF = 1023815
      CRC = 2249
      LOS = 2427
      LOF = 0
      ES = 60
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 32 sec
      SF = 13300
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56199
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56199
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56198
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56199
      CRC = 2211
      LOS = 2416
      LOF = 0
      ES = 31
      BottyLad


    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      well, its not a regrade!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      well, its not a regrade!!

      i was only guessing
      (tis why i asked for the stats)

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      After 6 months of having to reboot every day (sometimes 2/3 times per day!) my Sky MAX now seems to be stable.
      that would have normally lead me to think you have some bad internal wiring (sometimes external bt side)

      because you now do not have to re-boot i had thought your line may have been capped, but it does not look like this is the case

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      i was only guessing
      (tis why i asked for the stats)
      oh, i know - wasn't having a dig...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      ^^ no offence taken (i did not in truth think there was any offence intended)

      i also do need to be kept in check every now and again (as the other post today where i laid out the suggested speeds, but did not explain there is no garuantee with the speed )

    11. #10
      bottylad's Avatar
      bottylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middlewich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Finally - Sky appear to have fixed my issues!!

      I had tried all sorts. Re-wired the sockets, went thru the test socket etc. Tried a different router, upped my SNR using mognuts utility - but always the same problem.

      Now - all still seems very stable (reletively speaking!)

      Cheers
      BottyLad


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION