Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    where is my mastersocket?

    This is a discussion on where is my mastersocket? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You only need 1 Master Socket, you can install as many extension sockets as you wish, but you cannot plug ...

    1. #11
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face

      You only need 1 Master Socket, you can install as many extension sockets as you wish, but you cannot plug telephones into them if the REN (Ringer Eqivalent Number) is likely to exceed 4, BT will not guarantee that your phones will ring if REN 4 is exceeded, routers/modems obviously do not have an REN Number...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy

      Sorry missed off, whatever you do, do not send for BT to move the Master Socket, they seem to want to charge excessive amounts to do it, nothing to stop you moving it yourself, providing you don't cause a fault, cos then again BT will need to attend, and stick you with a large bill...

    4. #13
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      But should your line later develop a fault and you have to call BT in they may hold you liable for the costs!

    5. #14
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy

      Very true Hugsie, and boy do BT know how to charge customers who cause faults on BT's installation, and they can disconnect the rest of the installation, if you have installed it yourself, leave it for your goodself to fix, and still stick you with a large bill, engineers attending your house when chargeable do not come cheap...

    6. #15
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I just thought people should be aware of possible repurcussions before they decided to try some DIY!

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You think they have to come to the house to charge you then think again I have been billed £55 for them going to my exchange to fix a fault they created

      Still waiting for them to call me back about it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation

      Hi Wheelie
      Did you ask for an emergency attention to your problem?, cos they bump the bill up somewhat for out-of-hours attendance, but I believe BT Engineers work seven days a week, until quite late in the evening....

    9. #18
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I never asked them for anything except to fix the problem they caused in the first place, and according to BT's as I am disabled and confined to a wheelchair I am supposed to be a priority case not only that the work was all done during normal hours anyway.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #19
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Funny how they can charge you, but when you ask for information they are working for Sky.....

    11. #20
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Think we'd better clarify the situation regarding moving BT master socket yourself! It is in fact ILLEGAL and you could be fined and have your account terminated.

      Suggest you read this particularly the bit:-

      You must NOT replace or move any of BT’s property; this includes but is not limited to the following;

      The Drop cable – The cable that come’s from outside to the inside.
      A junction box – If it is before the BT master socket.
      Cable before the BT master socket.
      Cable after the BT master socket (if BT holds ownership).

      The Master line box is the "demarcation" point between your telephone equipment, wiring and BT's Exchange Line.

      The reason this is so, is that everything on your side of the master, is your problem. Everything on BT's side, including the Master line box itself, is BT's problem. It needs to stay this way!

      Now if you want to something along the lines of; move the Master socket (to get rid of the crap wire between that junction box and master socket) or to relocate the Master socket to where the drop cable enters your premises, then to do this is YOUR choice, if you mess it up, then you will need BT to sort it out, IF they sort it out for you that is (keep reading).

      If you successfully move your Master socket to have more “high quality user-side wiring” then good for you, but it is ILLEGAL to do this, if it is clear and obvious that you moved it yourself and BT issue’s a fine and/or terminate your line. Don’t say you weren't warned.

      That was the warning… just in case you didn’t understand the ILLEGAL part.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION