Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

    This is a discussion on Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I wasn't quite sure of the best forum to put this in, so sorry if it's not in the ...

    1. #1
      Proople's Avatar
      Proople is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Hi, I wasn't quite sure of the best forum to put this in, so sorry if it's not in the right place!

      I'm in a Sky LLU area, and I'm thinking about signing up for Sky TV and one of the broadband packages. The thing is, I've had real problems with broadband before, as apparently my line is extremely long (I live 3km from the exchange, go figure). I had it working at 256k for 6 months, then it just stopped completely and I had to cancel in the end as BT said the line was just too long.

      So, I'm hoping to try Sky as I hear (correctly?) that their LLU offering may be better on long lines than BT wholesale.

      The problem I have is that I only want the TV+Broadband package if the broadband works. If it turns out not to, I don't want the TV either (as I'm only after the basic package, and only that because I have to to get sky broadband!). So, if I order it all, and it turns out that broadband still won't work, do I have to keep the TV package I ordered?

      If I've made any incorrect assumptions about LLU etc please let me know! Or if this question is best asked elsewhere I'd appreciate the pointer as well.

      Thanks for your time,

      Proople


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Sky is unlikely to work better on your line than any other ISP. At the end of the day, it's the wires between your house and the exchange which are the problem, and even if you change to an LLU provider like Sky, you'll still be using those same wires.

      And a 3km distance as the crow flies doesn't mean much really. If you live on the same road as the exchange, you might find that the length of the line isn't much more than the distance between you and the exchange. But if you live on an estate on the outskirts of a town, then the wire will sometimes wind its path around that estate before getting to you, and you might find the length of the line will be double the distance, or even more.

      The Sky Broadband contract requires you to be a Sky TV subscriber, but as far as I know, the Sky TV contract is treated as a separate contract Even if they let you cancel the Broadband contract (because, say, it doesn't work at all), then you'd still be bound to having Sky TV for a whole year. The problem is that the kit required for Sky TV - the satellite dish and the receiver - are subsidised by Sky, and they can only afford to do that if people are bound into a 1 year contract.

      Mind you, they probably could be persuaded to let you go if you push them hard enough. But bearing in mind that it's pretty unlikely that you'll be any happier with Sky's Broadband service than anyone else's, I don't think it's worth the risk of signing up to Sky.

      Of course, other people might have different opinions...

    4. #3
      Proople's Avatar
      Proople is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Thanks for your info on the contracts - looks like it might be a bit of a gamble then :-(

      I was hoping that if I went for something on ADSL2+, it would be more likely to work. I think my line length puts me in the region on the below graph which would benefit:

      http://www.internode.on.net/media/im...sl2-dist07.jpg

      ... but I'm still fairly new to all this.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Sky only put people on ADSL2+ if the line is good enough to get more than 8Mbit/sec, and they have the Sky Broadband Max option. I've seen graphs which seem to indicate that ADSL2 and ADSL2+ can be used to get better results on very long lines, but this isn't something that Sky do, I'm afraid.

    6. #5
      Leanne_618's Avatar
      Leanne_618 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Hi,

      I have Sky Broadband and it doesnt seem to work properly for me. It has become a regular occurence that I cannot get onto the internet and I'm thinking of getting it taken out.

      It's not just me either, my Husband's Aunt has been having a lot of problems, i.e. not being able to access the internet properly. My mother-in-law has cable in, in exactly the same area as me (just around the corner) and she has no problems with accessing the internet at all!! It couldn't be a problem with the area as my Husband's Aunt lives a long way from us.

      So [U]my[U] advice to you would be not to get Sky Broadband at all. I underline my as other people may not have this problem.

      Hope this helps

    7. #6
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Is it possible for you to post your router stats and describe your set up for connecting to the internet. Such as extentions and test and master sockets. Also are you wireless or hard wired.

    8. #7
      Barnstabule's Avatar
      Barnstabule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hartlepool
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Hartlepool
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Sky only put people on ADSL2+ if the line is good enough to get more than 8Mbit/sec, and they have the Sky Broadband Max option. I've seen graphs which seem to indicate that ADSL2 and ADSL2+ can be used to get better results on very long lines, but this isn't something that Sky do, I'm afraid.
      I have ADSL2+ with Sky Max, and I am 6Km+ from the exchange (wire length estimated from 60db Line attenuation). When I filled in the application stuff I was told the best I could get was a max of 512K/sec for my line, but I am happily sat here at just over 3Mbit/sec

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      ^^^^^^^
      Sorry Barnstabule, according to your last posts you are on G.DMT, not ADSL2+, lets not give the OP false hopes

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      line length is not the cause of the noise, it is environmental factors that cause the noise.

      obviously a longer line will suffer from increased environmental factors though... its just luck. also, 3km from exchange will not mean a 3km phone line.

      If the real reason was that your phone line was too long, not much can be done. If there was a problem with your internal wiring, this could have added to the problem.

    11. #10
      phproxy's Avatar
      phproxy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Player
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I cancel everything if the broadband doesn't work?

      For an idea of what Sky may say when ordering your broadband, go here:
      Sky Retail Registration

      log in with 11111 2222 and enter your phone number to see what it says about your broadband.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION