Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    What Speed should I Be Getting

    This is a discussion on What Speed should I Be Getting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi have spoken to sky about my speed, they said that they have trained my conection to 7mb that was ...

    1. #1
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What Speed should I Be Getting

      Hi have spoken to sky about my speed, they said that they have trained my conection to 7mb that was 6/2/08, but i have never got that speed.

      here are my stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2420 4377 0 900 21751 00:03:20
      LAN 10M/100M 4255 2986 0 18100 1277 00:04:17
      WLAN 11M/54M 334 598 0 281 217 00:04:07


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db 21.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.8 db 14.0 db

      Hope someone can help woth this problem



      cheers
      thescotsman


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: What Speed should I Be Getting

      i would suggest you do a set of comparison stats from the "test" socket (see first link in my sig

      with your attenuation you should get a much better conection

      post back the new stats

    4. #3
      thescotsman's Avatar
      thescotsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broxburn
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What Speed should I Be Getting

      Hi i have not got a test socket, master box is one of the old type.


      cheers
      thescotsman

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: What Speed should I Be Getting

      it looks like you may have some internal wiring problems (not a problem for using the phone, but high speed BB will be affected)

      have a look in the cabling and face plate forum, you will find a few others in the same postion as you are

      if you do not have a master socket with BT test socket behind the face plate (as in pic on link in first sig), you may have to do some fiddling with your wires, in the cabling and face plate forum you will find tips on how to improve your internal wiring (will more than likely involve removing the ring wire on all sockets, but have a good look first before you mess around with anything)

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What Speed should I Be Getting

      You should also try with everything disconnected from the phone line except the router. See if the noise margin rises at all. Sky digiboxes in particular can cause a lot of problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: What Speed should I Be Getting

      ^^ good shout, i forgot about that

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION