Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    line speeds

    This is a discussion on line speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; [FONT="Palatino Linotype"][/FONT hi, i have recently switched to sky broadband max,and was told when i signed up that i could ...

    1. #1
      markmewerdz's Avatar
      markmewerdz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: goodmays
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      line speeds

      [FONT="Palatino Linotype"][/FONT

      hi,
      i have recently switched to sky broadband max,and was told when i signed up that i could get sky broadband max and that my bt line would hold between 8-16mb,my router stats show my line speed is just over 6kbps,i e-mailed sky and they replied with the following
      "Having spoken to our Customer Solutions Team who deal with line speeds and configuration I have found that is the best stable speed that they can configure, we can 'up' the speed however this would be subject to possible line crashes due to high speed on a certain grade of line. "
      so my question is[being a noob here]is what are possible line crashes?if it means that every so often i lose connection then this is what happens now so that would be nothing new! so should i tell them to up the speed to something nearer what i am paying for?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by markmewerdz View Post
      my router stats show my line speed is just over 6kbps
      Are you sure? That would be slow for a dial up connection 20 years ago.

      Please post your router stats.

    4. #3
      markmewerdz's Avatar
      markmewerdz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: goodmays
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      oops sorry the line speed should have read 6016kbps download 768 upload

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      Please read my reply
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Please post your router stats.

    6. #5
      markmewerdz's Avatar
      markmewerdz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: goodmays
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      Connection Speed Downstream 6016 kbps

      Upstream 768 kbps

      Line Attenuation Downstream 39.0 db

      Upstream 23.0 db

      Noise Margin Downstream 10.3 db

      Upstream 14.0 db

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      Your high(ish) noise margin suggests you are lightly capped which fits with what Sky have told you.

      Your attenuation would normally support ~11meg on ADSL2+, however, even uncapped I doubt your sync would rise much above 8meg. This would indicate a fair amount of line noise which again supports why Sky have capped you.

      Fix whatever is causing the line noise and you'll almost certainly fix the "line crashes" too. You'll also then be able to ask Sky to uncap you, put you on ADSL2+ and get somewhere around 11meg.

      See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems.

    8. #7
      markmewerdz's Avatar
      markmewerdz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: goodmays
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      thanks for your help much appreciated,at the moment the router is connected to the test socket of the bt the master socket.there are no other sockets in the house

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      Then it would appear that the line noise is in your BT line.

      With regard to these "line crashes", what exactly are the symptoms and how are you resolving them? Are you sure you're not losing connection to the router i.e. a wireless problem? Or is the ADSL connection dropping as shown in the router log and the light going out on the front panel? If so what is your noise margin when it drops?

    10. #9
      markmewerdz's Avatar
      markmewerdz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: goodmays
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line speeds

      sky have sent me a new router and these are the stats now


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6080 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 10 db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION