Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slightly odd moving home query.

    This is a discussion on Slightly odd moving home query. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Am moving shortly so have been reading the threads about taking the Sky service with me. Now, the ...

    1. #1
      ChrisH's Avatar
      ChrisH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slightly odd moving home query.

      Hi all,

      Am moving shortly so have been reading the threads about taking the Sky service with me.

      Now, the difference with me is that I'll be moving back to my parent's house and a broadband service is already active on the line (Demon). I've got a MAC code from Demon - do you know if Sky will accept this under a home move or will I need to cease service with Demon and wait for the line to clear down?

      Also, I'm moving on the 27th March - when would be the best time to move? From what I've read, some people get ceased instantly on their line, others seem to take 2 weeks.

      And lastly! My parents' phone line is poor - I'm on MAX at my current flat and receiving the full 16mb. However, I will be moving to a line with high attenuation that struggles to receive 2mb, let alone any more - I've rewired etc to no avail. Is there any chance in this situation that Sky will let me regrade to their 8mb package, even though I'm in contract?

      Thanks

      Chris.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slightly odd moving home query.

      Quote Originally Posted by ChrisH View Post
      Hi all,

      Am moving shortly so have been reading the threads about taking the Sky service with me.

      Now, the difference with me is that I'll be moving back to my parent's house and a broadband service is already active on the line (Demon). I've got a MAC code from Demon - do you know if Sky will accept this under a home move or will I need to cease service with Demon and wait for the line to clear down?
      They should be able to use the MAC code
      Also, I'm moving on the 27th March - when would be the best time to move? From what I've read, some people get ceased instantly on their line, others seem to take 2 weeks.
      ring up 2 weeks before you move and let them know - they'll cease the line (takes 5-10 days), once it stops working, give it till the next day and ring them to reprovision it with the new telephone number/mac code. It's important you cease the line before you move so the broadband doesn't get 'stuck' on Sky's systems.
      And lastly! My parents' phone line is poor - I'm on MAX at my current flat and receiving the full 16mb. However, I will be moving to a line with high attenuation that struggles to receive 2mb, let alone any more - I've rewired etc to no avail. Is there any chance in this situation that Sky will let me regrade to their 8mb package, even though I'm in contract?

      Thanks

      Chris.
      I'm inclined to say yes - however, I wouldn't mention it at the time of cancelling/moving home, wait until you ring up to reorder it at your new address and say that you need to get it set back up at your new address and can they change it to mid. I'm not sure if they'll do it but it goes through as a new order (with no setup fee) so if it can be done, thats the time they can.
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

    4. #3
      ChrisH's Avatar
      ChrisH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slightly odd moving home query.

      Excellent - many thanks - and should I be calling the home move department for this or Broadband Support?

      Thanks for the response

      Chris

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Slightly odd moving home query.

      Bear in mind you will likely have to give Demon a months notice to cancel.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    6. #5
      ChrisH's Avatar
      ChrisH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slightly odd moving home query.

      Yep, already given notice to Demon so have the MAC code to hand.

      Chris

    7. #6
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slightly odd moving home query.

      Quote Originally Posted by ChrisH View Post
      Excellent - many thanks - and should I be calling the home move department for this or Broadband Support?

      Thanks for the response

      Chris
      You need to speak to the moving home team, they'll sort out moving your TV as well
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION