Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

    This is a discussion on BT Speedtest ADSL Username? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, In another post there is a pointer to the BT speedtest. I cant get it to recognise my ...

    1. #1
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      Hi all,

      In another post there is a pointer to the BT speedtest. I cant get it to recognise my username? Can anyone help? The quote below is what I have been doing. I think? I have been trying my ADSL port MAC address as opposed to the LAN Port MAC address.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Go to BT Speedtest enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the V1 router by using one of the utilities available on the forum. Copy and paste the result.


      Test Result

      This is the official tester and if you speed if below a certain level, they must take action. Also post your Detailed stats(link below) and someone will tell you what you should reasonably expect from your conection.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      The LAN address is your username, you will also find it printed on the label of your router below the bar code. There will only be one digit difference, but it does make a difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      if you visit the routers config page, under ADSL PORT, your username is the MAC Address for it (without the colons) @skydsl
      if mine was 00:1a:1g:3d:ef:52
      my username is 001a1g3def52@skydsl

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      ^^^^^^^^^^
      Sorry, that was not my experience

      Why not use James' excellent non-destructive method to obtain the username password, you will find it here
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...-safe-way.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      Excellent,
      Thanks Isitme. I used James' method.
      worked first time.

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      Quote Originally Posted by Devil_Spawn View Post
      if you visit the routers config page, under ADSL PORT, your username is the MAC Address for it (without the colons) @skydsl
      if mine was 00:1a:1g:3d:ef:52
      my username is 001a1g3def52@skydsl
      "It was all 1's and 0's...and I thought I saw a 2!"

      There won't be a 'g' in your MAC address.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      I used James' method. worked first time.
      So for future reference, what was it, ADSL or LAN?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      It was the LAN address, As in James' post.

      No Colons, or "g's"

      Its the one printed on the sticker on the router.

      Unfortunatly the BT test got upto 96% then stopped. I left it for half an hour but no summary page appeared
      In the mean time I called sky, and was told that I can expect my speed to be all over the place for the first 10 days, If there are still issues after 10 days I should call them back...

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      Unfortunately, Sky give no help what-so-ever when it comes to Connect. For some guidance, read THIS

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Brin's Avatar
      Brin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Speedtest ADSL Username?

      Thanks once again Isitme!

      I had been on Blueyonder for so long I never really realised all the background on connecting to the net! I had the 20Mb package and eventually got tired of their "far use" policy. which seemed to limit my speed to 5Mb from 20Mb if I downloaded more than 2 gig! I am waiting for the Max package to become availible. but until then I will keep reading the links and tweaks to get the most speed I can out of this connect package. hopefully the wiring in my house will be upto scratch when I finaly get the upgrade!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION