Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Trillian Chat tool

    This is a discussion on Trillian Chat tool within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Apologies if this thread has been around before but i am a user of sky broadband and to be honest ...

    1. #1
      craigw's Avatar
      craigw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Trillian Chat tool

      Apologies if this thread has been around before but i am a user of sky broadband and to be honest i am not overly impressed with it, connection drops at about 10 times a day. Where as my other broadband connection in the house (using Zen) is far more reliable. One if for work and the other personal. Reason for 2 we live out in the sticks at best i can get 2meg on a new phone line wife gets just 1mb.

      However download speeds aside, I have been using trillian for years, i use it for MSN/Yahoo/ICQ and work wise i use AIM (since my colleagues are mostly americans) about a few weeks ago AIM stopped working. The same laptop when in the office at work is fine. Its only when i am at home on the sky connection. The zen connection is fine. Phoning sky was worse than having your teeth drawn. Port is blocked. Why i asked? since no we were not informed that this indiscrimate port blocking was taking place.

      I paid for the professional edition of this client to stop adverts and automatic chat logs. Now its useless when i work from home because i cannot chat with my colleagues. I downloaded the AIM client and got the port and server connections thinking i could retro fit it back but no to no avail.

      Surely there must be others out there using trillian who have experienced this?

      Any ideas on how to work around this, either than or i will have to leave sky, i am far from happy with this indiscrimate port blocking.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      i did not think sky blocked any ports

      why do you use the sky service for work use if you have zen for work ?


      Edit: just noticed you are on connect, i do not know if BT block any ports

    4. #3
      craigw's Avatar
      craigw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      well i would have thought not but customer services say they do. And in this instance they claim to have blocked this port. 5190

    5. #4
      ossie's Avatar
      ossie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thanet
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      I use Trillian on Sky without any issues.............

    6. #5
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      May be as its a connect package and Bt block it

    7. #6
      craigw's Avatar
      craigw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      well to add to this,

      i have zen on another broadband connection. I took my laptop plugged into that network - bingo no problems.
      Took the sky + router, with a bit of tweeking i.e. user/name password etc onto the zen ADSL bband. Works fine.

      Took the zen router plugged it into sky+ and yip it doesnt work.

      Laptop works fine at work, and on zen. Plug it into sky - nope doesnt work.

      Trying to explain this to to customer support is like drawing teeth.

      For those of you using trillian with the AIM plugin can you just double check the connection preferences?
      i.e. Server is login.oscar.aol.com port 5190

      because i cant ping it or telnet to that port on sky but i cant on Zen and my work.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      Have a look at THIS thread, initiated by James67. It concerns the implications of port 5190 being left open.

      Having tried the online scan given in James' thread, if find that this port is still open.

      Just realized this is a TCP scan, which could make a difference.
      Last edited by Isitme; 01-03-08 at 03:02 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      craigw's Avatar
      craigw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trillian Chat tool

      well i just changed the port to 5191 and hey it works fine, so that port 5190 is being blocked somewhere.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION