Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Aren't BT the best

    This is a discussion on Aren't BT the best within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Poor old SKY are receiving a battering for their problems with this roll out BUT I think 75% (atleast) should ...

    1. #1
      Scooby_Doo's Avatar
      Scooby_Doo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMNUN - Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs down Aren't BT the best

      Poor old SKY are receiving a battering for their problems with this roll out BUT I think 75% (atleast) should be aimed at BT...

      I've been promised the 8th, 15th and sometime on the 18th/19th all backed up by the BT Landline orders website and calls to BT..

      So when yesterday (Mon 18th 16:40) I'm cut off while talking to the better half at home and when dialling back I hear ticking and taping sounds on the line, I think, they're finally doing it, I'm being switched the SKY Broadband. Great.

      I get home at 18:20 and guess what........

      NO DIALTONE whatsoever the phone is completely dead NO Broadband NO anything..

      I report a fault on line (via my mobile), they test the line and YES go on guess...... 'There seems to be a fault at the exchange' no kidding...

      We'll have an engineer look sometime tomorrow..

      So fingers crossed, but aren't BT great they can hide behind the ISP let them take the blame for things they have no control over.. We should have better access to BT Wholesale so the problems they are causing become more visible.

      Scooby_Doo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am really sorry to see this Scooby_Doo .

      BT did the very same thing to me when changing me over on the 7th and the trouble I had talking to BT faults I made 8 calls to them between the Thursday evening and the Tuesday morning when they finally fixed it all.

      The best thing is they are now trying to charge me 55 for a call out charge so keep an eye on the BT checker.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 19-09-06 at 11:16 AM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Lawman's Avatar
      Lawman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      PM to you Scooby...
      audere est facere (To Dare is to Do)

      http://www.thesway.net

    5. #4
      Scooby_Doo's Avatar
      Scooby_Doo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMNUN - Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thanks for the warning, I'll watch them like a hawk...

      They've already messed up and removed the call divert before fixing the fault..

      What a great company BT aren't....

      Scooby_Doo

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well if its any consolation mate things do get fixed in the end
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Lawman

      Glad to see you finally registered
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Lawman's Avatar
      Lawman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks Wheelie
      But I had to, what with Newsreader parking his Robin reliant,
      on my front lawn, and jingling those dam beads. * I think they were beads*
      well they were small and round
      audere est facere (To Dare is to Do)

      http://www.thesway.net

    9. #8
      Scooby_Doo's Avatar
      Scooby_Doo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMNUN - Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Phone Repaired

      Well somewhere between 9:50 (BT Website), 10:20 (SMS Message) & 10:50 (BT Text service) the phones been repaired, though the free phone divert is still active.

      Now just got to wait for boss to get home with brats to see if
      a) Phone works
      b) Broadband works
      c) Broadband switch completed

      I thought I'd setup the modem to auto update dyndns.org but that's not changed so still don't know..

      Scooby_Doo [/QUOTE]

    10. #9
      Scooby_Doo's Avatar
      Scooby_Doo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMNUN - Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Well one thing has changed....

      I can now logon to the www.skybroadband.com website, before today including this morning I could not and now I can.

      Does this mean my account has been fully activated when the modem connected?

      Scooby_Doo

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Lawman View Post
      Thanks Wheelie
      But I had to, what with Newsreader parking his Robin reliant,
      on my front lawn, and jingling those dam beads. * I think they were beads*
      well they were small and round
      LOL what do you expect
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION