Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    Dialup Speed on BB Connection

    This is a discussion on Dialup Speed on BB Connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I give up... I really do. James in tier 3 and an ops manager told me yesterday that sky `cap ...

    1. #21
      Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS's Avatar
      Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I give up...

      I really do. James in tier 3 and an ops manager told me yesterday that sky `cap new connections at 128kbps. THEN their technical guys tweak it and take the cap off. I really dont make this up you know!

      Ray, as i said if people are happy waiting while thousands wait to be activated, no worries. BUT people are coming on here for answers as they are fed up with no customer service or broadband. People who have been waiting days and days azre looking for answers not skys "in due course" line. Sky front line will just fob you off and "escalate" it, lol they supposedly escalated me 2 times, but on speaking to tier 3 they hadnt escalated me ONCE.

      Ray its easy once you have your connection to say dont tell people to do this or that. In my opinion people need to batter the door down until tier 3 look at their case. Its my opinion and i am entitled to it. You can suggest to people not to do it but in my opinion you cannot tell me what to tell people.

      I have suggested a soloution that (eventually) worked for me. If people want to try it then fine, if they are happy waiting days with nothing happening then fine. Its their choice. Ive just showed them other options and what i did.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS's Avatar
      Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Incorrect dust..

      once you have an adsl connection and have troubleshooted via technical then tier 3 are the people who can sort your connection, front line cannot do it.

      Anyway i will leave these forums now. Was only trying to help as ive been through most things in the last week and seen how they were solved.

      Activation delays, websites blocked, authentication issues, dial up speeds.

      Ive also talked to high up people and been told quite a bit (more so than the moderators who seenm to know all)

      On that note i wish you all good luck and bid you fairwell.

    4. #23
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Easy now......as you say we're all entitled to our opinion and your opinions seem to be rather forthright and, in your mind, the only opinion worth having...it wasn't that long ago you branded everyone at Sky Broadband a bunch of liars etc etc.

      Everyones contribution is a welcome asset to these forums, my point is one solution does not fix everyones problem and myself and Ray were merely questioning this.

      Go on, pick up your toys as your contributions are valuable for some members and it would be unfortunate if you felt you couldn't post on this forum just because there was a small amount of debate on your advice - between us all we generally get to the root cause of a users issues.

      spcdust

    5. #24
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Quote Originally Posted by spcdust View Post
      ...it wasn't that long ago you branded everyone at Sky Broadband a bunch of liars etc etc.


      spcdust
      And i was proved correct....

    6. #25
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS

      I never said once that what you said was wrong all I did was answer the question are you %100 sure and replied as such, its quite possible that if they do find the connection is unstable then the do cap it to start with I have no idea.

      As for your comments on tier 3 well you have read what I think about it

      So you think its easy for me now because I am now connected to SkyBB believe me its not easy at all, as a Mod I spend hours reading all kinds of things to try and help the people on this site even though some of my replies may not be as good as some of the others in a post I try my best to assist the one thing above all that I will not do is fill people with false hope by saying if you do x, y and z it will sort you out or make it easier.

      Oh I agree everyone is entitled to there opinion and I would never stop or try to stop anyone from giving it and though the solution (eventually) worked for you is one of the reason I asked you to add a link to the problems you had so people would understand what you went through to get there.

      Its easy to post demand to speak to who ever for what ever reason but it doesn't always work that way but please feel free to keep telling people to do as you suggest some may well be lucky but I bet the bulk of them will have no luck.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #26
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      @Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS



      Oh I agree everyone is entitled to there opinion and I would never stop or try to stop anyone from giving it and though the solution (eventually) worked for you is one of the reason I asked you to add a link to the problems you had so people would understand what you went through to get there.

      Its easy to post demand to speak to who ever for what ever reason but it doesn't always work that way but please feel free to keep telling people to do as you suggest some may well be lucky but I bet the bulk of them will have no luck.

      ludicrous post. Lets see shall we who comes on here with 100kbps speed and then see if tier 3 fix it.

      I can see whay you are a moderator.

      You tell them what you believe to work then and we will leave it at that. i have spent about 40 hours on the phone to sky and come out the other side knowing what their issues are.

      I have been told when you have an adsl connectoion on sky that tier 3 are the people who can fix it. But if thats not registering with you then no worries.

      You also told me NOT to tell people to ask for tier 3. So you are telling me not to give people their best shot at a soloution.

      I really give up, but now i can adopt the i'm alright jack stance and leave you to guess . What i find sensational is you telling me that the bulk will have no success following my advice and on that note i will leave you to it, but question how you are a moderator and what help you could bring guessing and telling others that have been through it they are wrong and that their advice wont help the bulk of people with those issues.

      just did a speedtest

      13.3 mbps download
      648 mbps upload.

      im alright jack and as my advice will fail the bulk of people ray you can get on with it.

      i would also ask newsreader to pull all of my threads including unregistered as i own the interlectual copyright to those posts. And as they wont help anyone there is no use i them being up here.

    8. #27
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS View Post
      Incorrect dust..

      once you have an adsl connection and have troubleshooted via technical then tier 3 are the people who can sort your connection, front line cannot do it.

      Anyway i will leave these forums now. Was only trying to help as ive been through most things in the last week and seen how they were solved.

      Activation delays, websites blocked, authentication issues, dial up speeds.

      Ive also talked to high up people and been told quite a bit (more so than the moderators who seenm to know all)

      On that note i wish you all good luck and bid you fairwell.

      I am real sorry that what I said upset I had no intention of offending you and that you feel I am a know it all, if you change your mind and decide to login again with your username rather than post as Unregistered you will still be welcome.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #28
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I found this posting which I believe you made when you were having all your speed issues and were in dialogue with Tier 3:

      Well i think im on. tier 3 just fones and said we capped you at 128kbps to try and find the errors. they just flicked me on and said my line is showing 15.9 mbps now
      And here's the thread: Sky PATHETIC! Do Not migrate to them.

      This was the only reason I questioned your statement that all new connections are capped as your quoted posting suggested that in the course of them trying to resolve your issues they had "manually" applied this cap.

      The only thing I was trying to establish was your assertion that all new connections are initially capped. Personally I think you are wrong (but that's my opinion) and I think it's important to stem any misinformation to prevent others going on wild goose chases. On the other hand if someone wants to confirm this capping idea then I'll stand corrected.

      spcdust

      PS:

      i would also ask newsreader to pull all of my threads including unregistered as i own the interlectual copyright to those posts.
      It's good to see you've retained your sense of humour with that line and the ironic spelling of " interlectual".
      Last edited by spcdust; 19-09-06 at 02:10 PM.

    10. #29
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by Ex Bt loves Sky BB CS View Post
      Incorrect dust..

      (more so than the moderators who seenm to know all)

      On that note i wish you all good luck and bid you fairwell.
      Well having read this thread:

      I too would hope that the staff of Sky know more of the facts than any of the moderators on here, as the moderators on here have nothing to do with Sky.

      If you genuinely want to leave i will delete your account, as for the posts Skyuser.co.uk own the copyright if you read the rules etc.

      However i am prepared to waste my time trawling through and removing every single one of them.

      At least you have been very confrontational on here and i have already removed some of your offensive calling people names etc. You are entitled to your views and so is everyone else on here.

      If you can put your point of view across constructively, fine, if you can't don't bother on here.

      We are primarily a help site, not an I hate Sky, BT or everyone else in the world site.

      If you have an issue with any member on here then take it to PM and i will resolve it for you. Any further posts of yours will be removed.

      I hope that you don't leave and that we can put it down to frustration, its your call.

      Thread locked




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION