Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Extension Lead Query

    This is a discussion on Extension Lead Query within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Up until now, I have been using an old dial-up extension lead with a BT socket and plugging this into ...

    1. #1
      englishwhistler's Avatar
      englishwhistler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Extension Lead Query

      Up until now, I have been using an old dial-up extension lead with a BT socket and plugging this into a micro-filter (phone) at one end and at the other end been using another microfilter to get the end of the extension lead converted to the RJ11 connection.

      For my Broadband Connection, I've been connected to the PC via LAN.

      What do I need to stop using two microfilters on the same line? Is it a long RJ11 to RJ11 cable like this one - at Cable Universe - ?

      Thanks
      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      markbloke's Avatar
      markbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm not quite clear about what you're doing here - it sounds as if you're doing this:
      Extension Lead Query-skyfilter.jpg

      If that's the case then you're lucky to be connecting! Can you clarify by telling us if the above is the way you've got it cabled? The important things to filter are phones and skyboxes attached on the line - the router needs no filtering itself.
      Connection Speed 13753 kbps Down - 766 kbps Up
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db Down - 18.7 db Up
      Noise Margin 7.0 db Down - 11.6 db Up

    4. #3
      englishwhistler's Avatar
      englishwhistler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      That's how I'd connected with Pipex (my old ISP) on a 1.5Mb connection - only difference is where it says "BT Master Socket", its actually a second socket in the living room with a extension to the hall where the master socket is.

      Had hissing on line from Saturday am (activation date) - engineer came and installed Sky BB and still had 1.5Mb connection but fixed the hissing problem as I had traced it to a faulty Sky+ box phone line double adaptor so disconnected that and found out connection speed dropped to 150k and been like it ever since then. Rung Sky to see why speed so low said activation on line was midnight last night and could be waiting until midday today (Tuesday) but nothing has changed.

    5. #4
      markbloke's Avatar
      markbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      OK, the important thing is to make sure your Sky ADSL router isn't connected through the phone socket of a microfilter (which is what's happening with the filter on the left of the diagram).
      A microfilter just passes the ADSL side straight through, it filters only the phone socket side to remove the ADSL signal so it doesn't interfere with audio frequency stuff on your phone or your Sky+ box's modem. Plug only your phones and your Sky+ box into the phone side of a microfilter.

      Edit: After you're quite sure that your Sky Router isn't connected via a microfilter phone socket, try rebooting your router (unplug the power and plug it back in) to see if your stats improve.
      Last edited by markbloke; 19-09-06 at 10:48 AM.
      Connection Speed 13753 kbps Down - 766 kbps Up
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db Down - 18.7 db Up
      Noise Margin 7.0 db Down - 11.6 db Up

    6. #5
      englishwhistler's Avatar
      englishwhistler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      I'm now in the process of getting a proper ADSL modem extension lead so all being well it will stop the silly connection I have - just waiting for the activation!!

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Why are you waiting for activation your IP shows you on SkyBB ??
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION