Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    connection troubles

    This is a discussion on connection troubles within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi folks i was just wondering if anyones been having problems with their sky broadband connection because earlier today my ...

    1. #1
      guysteruk's Avatar
      guysteruk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      connection troubles

      hi folks i was just wondering if anyones been having problems with their sky broadband connection because earlier today my broadband dropped down to a snails pace took ages to load webpages and at some points didnt work at all i ended up having to turn the modem off for a few minutes then back on again to fix the problem


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      This could be an indication of another problem completely, can you post your stats please for noise margin on your router?

    4. #3
      shane-smith's Avatar
      shane-smith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      I, too, am having frequent problems.

      Get issues such as:

      "The connection has timed out

      The server at www.kqayfj.com is taking too long to respond.

      * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
      moments.

      * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
      connection.

      * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
      that Firefox is permitted to access the Web."

      I can't access many webpages in both Internet Explorer and Firefox.

      Never ever had this problem with my previous ISPs.

      Whenever I ring Sky's expensive support lines, the technical staff come up with ideas such as to get me to delete my cookies each time. It's the kind of thing you learn on Day 1 of how to fix browser issues and that's all the staff seem to be able to suggest.

      Also I get many error messages whereby, when I try to access pages, I get an error message as follows:

      "401 Unauthorized
      Authorization required."

      The URL is like:
      http://www.facebook.com/sky_temp.htm...=sky_temp.html

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      http://www.kqayfj.com doesn't load for me either and the second one I get a file not found although it seems an odd URL that you are trying to access in the first place as it even says Bad Request in the URL.

    6. #5
      Yak's Avatar
      Yak
      Yak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      I got disconnected@ approx 19:50 last night and was not able to get back on.
      Phoned SKY, and they informed me that the RADIUS Server had gone down and was affecting everyone.
      Back on now though. I think they were working on it from 00:00 - 06:00 this morning.

    7. #6
      lewie's Avatar
      lewie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Folkestone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      My connection has been very poor for the past week,keep having to re-boot the router a couple of times each evening.
      Prior to this my connection was fine!

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      ^^ post some stats and could you confirm where you plug the router in (if in an extention, try the master socket)

    9. #8
      lewie's Avatar
      lewie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Folkestone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      I am plugged into an extension,but as i say up till now has been fine.

      System Up Time 01:10:58
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 8804 10077 0 481 1721 01:09:25
      LAN 10M/100M 9696 9197 0 1738 531 01:10:56
      WLAN 11M/54M 241 0 0 10 0 01:10:46


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7232 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.0 db 14.0 db

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      with your attenuation you should connect at the maximum (about 8meg), but you are only connected at 7.2 and your Noise margin is only 6.

      this would lead me to think you have problems with your extention, you could do a test from the master socket )or even better if you tried the "test" socket that is behind the face plate)

    11. #10
      lewie's Avatar
      lewie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Folkestone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      with your attenuation you should connect at the maximum (about 8meg), but you are only connected at 7.2 and your Noise margin is only 6.

      this would lead me to think you have problems with your extention, you could do a test from the master socket )or even better if you tried the "test" socket that is behind the face plate)
      Thanks
      My master socket is in my celler.
      Would it be benificial if I bought an extension with a mini jack on one end and connected directly into my router?(If that makes sense)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION