Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    connection troubles

    This is a discussion on connection troubles within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you mean something like THIS then yes, but don't make it any longer than necessary. If you only have ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      If you mean something like THIS then yes, but don't make it any longer than necessary. If you only have one PC then a long ethernet RJ45 cable will give better results. It allows you to leave the modem by the Master socket, thus reducing the length of the analogue signal cable. This type of cable can be up to 100Ms long.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      lewie's Avatar
      lewie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Folkestone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      I have plugged the extension in my master socket and have these stats

      System Up Time 01:33:38
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1971 2159 0 2714 11194 00:02:39
      LAN 10M/100M 7103 6857 0 946 260 01:33:36
      WLAN 11M/54M 2303 4738 0 293 65 01:33:26


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6976 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 14.0 db

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      There will be very little difference between the Master and extension socket. Your really need to be in the Test socket to get a true comparison.

      As you are on Connect, plugging into the Test socket will not show any immediate effect, as it does with LLUd lines. You would have to keep it there for about 3 days to allow your line to train, power cycling at least once a day to ensure you are re-syncing with the exchange. After that time you can decide whether doing further work on your line is worthwhile.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      lewie's Avatar
      lewie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Folkestone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection troubles

      Its the drop outs that I am worried about
      Can I plug in the test and still leave my phone connected?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION