Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Some success....??

    This is a discussion on Some success....?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have a look back at the stats you have posted. in the 1st set is a line: Max(Kbps): 6112 in ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Some success....??

      Have a look back at the stats you have posted.

      in the 1st set is a line:

      Max(Kbps): 6112

      in the last set (when connected to the master socket) the figures change to:

      Max(Kbps): 11072

      This shows that you have improved the line conditions and can now ring Sky to lift the cap.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some success....??

      I did notice that difference, as I mentioned.

      The thing is, I haven't done anything to improve the line conditions.
      There's only 0.5Meg difference now between the router connected to the Master Socket and it being connected to the PC in another room.

      I did receive a voice-text earlier from Sky saying that my problem ahs now been resolved. I assumed that this was in response to my call at the beginning of the week. May be they have done something in between time?

      regards

      Dumfy

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Some success....??

      There may be only .5 meg difference in your sync but your attenuation has dropped to 12 dbls and your noise margin has risen to nearly 28 dbls. You should be able to connect at 24 mbps if it were available, as it is you will be limited to 16.

      You should call Sky and ask them to remove the cap on your connection and place you on ADSL2+ as your connection can more than support it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some success....??

      Thanks to all with this..

      I took IsiTme's advice and emailed Sky asking them to remove the cap and place me ADSL2+. Within a couple of hours I had a reply saying that they had carried out my request and to monitor the line for issues.

      Well, credit where credit is due and Sky have really come up trumps. My connection is better now than it's ever been with tremendous speeds. I've posted the latest stats below and let me know if anything is amiss. I don't think there is as I'm well chuffed.

      So a very big thank-you to Sky and also to everyone here on the forums for the help and guidance. I'd have been stuck without it.

      Best Regards

      Dumfy

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 16382 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.0 13.5
      Attn(dB): 17.0 9.4
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17916 864
      Rate (Kbps): 16382 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 63 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4658 7.7037
      L: 4379 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5383994 5383992
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 742991212 45763932
      RSCorr: 24738 5
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3343479527 155967695
      Data Cells: 19926558 942594
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 1
      SES: 3 0
      UAS: 14 4294946212
      Total time = 1 days 2 min 34 sec
      SF = 5383994
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 34 sec
      SF = 9580
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 34 sec
      SF = 9580
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55986
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5374414
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55986
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55986
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56049
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Some success....??

      Excellent

      Remember if you do start to suffer with drop outs, come back to the forum for advice on controlling your noise margin using Mognuts. Don't phone Sky or they will just cap you again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION