Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Limited Connectivity with Vista help

    This is a discussion on Limited Connectivity with Vista help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I run Vista 32 bit, with a 12MB connection which runs fine, until I start to download something. Gets up ...

    1. #1
      tomolane's Avatar
      tomolane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      I run Vista 32 bit, with a 12MB connection which runs fine, until I start to download something. Gets up to speeds of about 1mb/s and then i get the annoying yellow sign saying 'limited connectivity'. Someone linked me to chicago tech forums, which told me to turn off ipv6 or whatever its called, so i did and its still doing it.

      anyone had the same problem? any idea what on earth to do? i'm new here, and not so good with the technical side of wireless connections, so help would be much appreciated.

      thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tomolane's Avatar
      tomolane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      i also forgot to add that the connection restarts again after seeing limited connectivity for a few seconds, and the download then restarts, hence it taking a lot longer than it should normally.

    4. #3
      ichivers's Avatar
      ichivers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      If you can try it with a wired connection to prove its the wireless.

      How strong is your wireless signal, might be worth trying it while close to the router.

      I dont think IPv6 will have anything todo with it, you could try changing the wireless channel in the router settings to see if that helps.

    5. #4
      Mongoose123's Avatar
      Mongoose123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      I had exactly the same problem with my new Vista machine. I cured it by changing the wireless channel to 8. It's worth experimenting with different channels to see which gives you the most stable connection.

    6. #5
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      I'll second that. Nothing to do with Vista though, same on XP.
      Seems on Auto the router tends to pick a crappy channel. Set your own channel and you wont have any problems.
      Used to be seen with the machine upstairs which would after starting a download or anything really, start to slow down to a snails pace/if not disconecting.

      Slim

    7. #6
      tomolane's Avatar
      tomolane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      thanks very much. it seems to be working ok. much appreciated.

    8. #7
      tomolane's Avatar
      tomolane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      tried it on 5 different channels, and its still doing it. is there a specific one i should be using? or just try them all?

    9. #8
      Mongoose123's Avatar
      Mongoose123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      Try each one. Also, make sure you have no other cables (especially mains cables) or transformer boxes near your antenna as the rf interference from these can kill a signal.
      One other thing to try, is make sure you don't have a cordless phone (including the base station) between or near either end of the wireless link as these operate on the same frequency and can cause interference.

    10. #9
      tomolane's Avatar
      tomolane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      tried all of that. even emailed sky asking what the problem might be, and he told me to change it to WEP which i did, and that has made it even slower before it disconnects. I have absolutely no idea what to do now.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity with Vista help

      Vista is supposed to be 'optimized' to make internet connections work without further tweaking, such as using TCP Optimizer. However it is still restricted in the amount of connections it can keep open etc. Have a look at this article and see if it is of any help.

      You should really connect with ethernet to rule out wireless problems. More and more people are beginning to realize the wireless broadband is not all it is built up to be. Many are discovering, that after months of trouble-free wireless, that inconsiderate so and so down the road has jumped on the bandwagon and messed their connection up completely.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 07-10-12 at 03:25 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION