Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Completely Unable to connect ..

    This is a discussion on Completely Unable to connect .. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I'm afraid this has been discussed many times - even by me on here but now I'm stuck. ...

    1. #1
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Completely Unable to connect ..

      Hi All,

      I'm afraid this has been discussed many times - even by me on here but now I'm stuck. I'm having to do this in work as I can't get connected at home so hope I can go home in the morning with something to try...

      Same thing happened a few weeks back which resulted in me buying new filters (as recommended by Sky Tech). Now it's worse than ever - mostly can't connect, but when I do, speeds are equivalent to dial-up. Sky Tech haven't been much help - usual stuff - blame BT (line's been checked by them and is good. No work going on at the exchange at all) and BT blame Sky. How can I get through to Sky Tech Support and try something more positive other than replace filters/check cables connections/plug in master socket/blame BT?
      Frustrating as I am able to get 11meg download speed.

      So in a nutshell - am hardwired and not using wireless at all.

      White Netgear Router DG834t.

      BT line checked.

      ADSL light is lit, but mostly it flickers. Sometimes off, then orange and back to green. Still won't connect even when constant. In the past have noticed the Port #1 light and ADSL flicker rapidly when downloading. Guess this is normal?

      uPnP is disabled as is wireless in Router set-up

      Router re-booted umpteen times in Diagnostics (sometimes can't even connect to router)

      Reset button on rear used umpteen times.

      I guess you'll need more info than this like router stats (need to work out how to get those) but can't post such info as can't connect at home.

      I think the router is faulty and has been for a while, but can't prove it. Can't get Sky to change it either (am within a year of sign-up incidentally). Am willing to buy a new one, but then I have to set the new router with Sky username and password. Is this easy?

      Hoping for some help and many thanks in anticipation

      Dumfy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Completely Unable to connect ..

      ..ps...

      forgot to add that due to being lucky with the D/L speed I can get, I'm on the Max package.
      Now the cynic in me is wondering if Sky have a habit of causing issues such as this at their end if they think you've been downloading too much - even if you're not capped. Over the past couple of weeks I have been using it a lot more than normal I'll admit, but have had no warning from Sky.

      Just a thought..

      Dumfy

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Completely Unable to connect ..

      When BT run a line check they often only check for one thing... wether or not their voice telephony system is working properly on the line. Past that they rarely care.
      What router have you got? (black or white) Also can you post your stats?

    5. #4
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Completely Unable to connect ..

      Hi PaulSky

      Thanks for the reply.

      It's the white Netgear Router I have (the DG834).

      I asked the chap at BT if the line was good for both telephony AND broadband and he said no probs with either.

      Unable to post stats as am doing this at work and unable to connect at home.

      Just read elsewhere on the Forum about Error 300

      This is what I get when using Sky Test in the Router software. Any ideas??

      Thnx

      Dumfy

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Completely Unable to connect ..

      error 300 is no IP address...and BT can't test the BB as it's not their hardware so they were lying to you
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Completely Unable to connect ..

      Cheers,

      Why is it customers always get fobbed off and bounced between companies...?

      Anyway, I realise that Error 300 is no IP address. It's the error code that comes back from the router when using the Sky Test Service from withing the routers software.

      Dumfy

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION