Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Slow Speed in Test Socket

    This is a discussion on Slow Speed in Test Socket within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi to all. I have been having problems with a slow connection. I am currently connected via the test socket ...

    1. #1
      arsenal2940's Avatar
      arsenal2940 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344 Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband Fibre Optic
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Slow Speed in Test Socket

      Hi to all.

      I have been having problems with a slow connection.
      I am currently connected via the test socket and the downstream speed is only 384 kbps.

      System Up Time: 4:48:33
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4928 5460 0 0 0 1:10:52
      LAN 4278 3856 0 0 0 4:48:33
      WLAN 113989 90864 0 0 0 4:48:11
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 320 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 19.8 db 7.0 db

      It doesn't matter if I connect wireless or ethernet and in the master socket or the test socket, the stats are always the same.

      I am on 'mid' and used to get downstream speeds of around 2mb.

      Is this a sign that my line is capped?
      I have the CST at sky currently looking into this.

      Can anyone advise me?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Slow Speed in Test Socket

      did you speak to sky as some time before you noticed the slow down ?,
      if so it may have been on there system and may have been auto regraded, your SNR is very high which would lead me to think you have been capped.

      I have the CST at sky currently looking into this.
      if there is no change in a couple of days, i would give them a ring back (did you get a ticket number ?)

    4. #3
      arsenal2940's Avatar
      arsenal2940 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344 Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband Fibre Optic
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speed in Test Socket

      Hi Richone

      I rang them as soon as I noticed the slow down.
      This will be the third time I have asked sky to check it out.
      Each time I get a job ticket and then a couple of days after I get the robot voice message saying 'problem rectified'
      So I go and check the speed and find nowt has changed, so i get back on to them. As I said this has happend 3 times. Just feels like I'm going around in circles. Can't call my connection Broadband at the speed I'm getting!

      I just want them to admit 'Yes your line is capped' Then I will ask if they can remove it!

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Slow Speed in Test Socket

      T1 can be a bit of a pain, if you have a ticket number you may be able to bypass them when you phone, just tell them about your ticket number and ask to speak to CST (used to be T2 & T3, but now merged)

      from reading other posts on here, if you ring about 10.30 - 11pm you may have a better chance of getting through to them

      hope you dont have to much more trouble with this as it looks like a simple problem for them to fix (uncap)

      Good luck

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Speed in Test Socket

      I think you have to demand you be allowed to speak to a supervisor or manager, 384 kbps is definitely not good enough. You are obviously being given the old Sky fob off.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      arsenal2940's Avatar
      arsenal2940 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344 Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband Fibre Optic
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speed in Test Socket

      Yes I'm begining to think I'm being fobbed off!
      Especially as this is the third time of asking for exactly the same fault.#

      I hope it is just a case of lifting the cap on my line. If so why the hell didn't they do just that at the first time of asking!

      I know with my line attenuation of 56db I'm not going to get lightning fast speeds, but surely a couple of Mb isn't too much to ask for!


    8. #7
      arsenal2940's Avatar
      arsenal2940 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344 Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband Fibre Optic
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: Slow Speed in Test Socket

      An update on my slow connection...

      I got that lovely 'Robot Voice Message' saying that my problem has been 'resolved'
      So hearing this I go to check what speed I am now getting. Finding that my 2 week old replacement Sagem Router is dead and wouldn't power up!
      So I dug out my old White Netgear Router and connected it to phone line and then did a speed check.

      Surprise surprise I was getting exactly the same speeds as before, the only difference I could see was my 'ping' times had improved.

      So I am getting back on to Sky, to try and get them to resolve this. (3rd time of asking)

      If it is just a case of removing a cap on my line why don't they do this?
      Instead I just get the 'Robot Voice' after 48 hours and no speed increase.

      I'm starting to get fed up with sub-standard Broadband speeds.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION