Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Dummie Help

    This is a discussion on Dummie Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, i have recently signed up for sky broadband and purchased a new laptop but i am having great difficulty ...

    1. #1
      PJH84's Avatar
      PJH84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dummie Help

      Hi, i have recently signed up for sky broadband and purchased a new laptop but i am having great difficulty connecting it to the internet. I ran through the cd package that came with the router etcand although it says the connection was succesful and the signal strength is excellent, when i try to bring up web pages it wont allow me to do it and say 'page cannot be displayed'

      I am a complete novice at this so please dont throw any technical jargon at me and forgive my ignorance. I did try my old laptop the previous night and it worked perfectly (although only when connrcted cia the cable) - This laptop has been connected to the internet before though.

      Is there something i need to set up on the computer to allow me to use the internet? The wireless light is on, all the lights that should be on are working on the router. I tried speaking to sky but got a reference number and told to call back when its less busy.


      Really stuck guys please tell me its eays to sort out?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Dummie Help

      Hi

      Were you on AOL before?

      Try this:

      1) Type http://192.168.0.1 in your browser (or click link)

      2) Username: admin Password: sky - Can you log into router?

      3) Open Internet Explorer, Choose Tools at the top, then Internet Options, then Connections

      4) Make sure, Never dial a connection is ticked

      5) Just under that choose Network or LAN Settings, make sure all boxes on that page are unticked. Click OK, then Apply or OK

      6) Try the internet again

      7) Let us know




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      PJH84's Avatar
      PJH84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dummie Help

      1) Type http://192.168.0.1 in your browser (or click link)

      2) Username: admin Password: sky - Can you log into router?


      Ive tried this but it tries to connect and then says somrthing about been offline and unable to connect. it tries to dial up (and subsequently fails) too which it didnt on my other laptop. It must be something on my new laptop but im cluesless as to what. Is there anything i can do to get through the first 2 steps?

      Your help is much appreciated

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Dummie Help

      Go into internet explorer, tools, internet options, click on connections tab and make sure it is set to never dial a connection and remove anything in the dial up box. While in there click on LAN settings and make sure everything is blank.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Dummie Help

      Quote Originally Posted by PJH84 View Post
      [B]Is there anything i can do to get through the first 2 steps?
      Try the remaining steps?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      PJH84's Avatar
      PJH84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dummie Help

      I think the firewalls are affecting me, how do i temporarily turn these off?

    8. #7
      PJH84's Avatar
      PJH84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dummie Help

      the web page you requested is not available while offline.Connecting through WAN mini port

      Connecting through wan mini error 815 the broadband network could not be established because the remote server is not responding, this could be caused by an invalid value for the sevice name field for this conecction. PLEASE CONTACT ISP

      Does this make any sense?
      Last edited by PJH84; 25-02-08 at 10:23 AM.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dummie Help

      If you are using a third party firewall, right click it's icon in the tray and select Exit or Close. The Windows fire wall will not normally stop you connecting, unless it has been set to do so.

      As you have a new laptop I am guessing that you have Vista. If so try this-
      1. Open the Control Panel>Network and Sharing Centre.
      2. Check that you have Private Network selected, if you don't, click Customise and select Private Network.
      3. Under Network it should say 'Access - Local and Internet' and below that 'Connection - Local area connection'
      4. If any of these are not as shown, click Manage Network Connections in the Left pane, this will bring up the Local area connection, ie your network card.
      5. Untick Internet Protocol Version 6 and highlight IPV 4(TCP/IPv4)
      6. Click the Properties button and make sure that 'Obtain an IP address automatically' is checked, close down, switch the router off and on and try to connect when it syncs.
      7. If you are still unable to connect, go back to 6 above and check 'Use the following IP address' and fill in these details.-
      IP 192.168.0.2
      Sub 255.255.255.0
      Def 192.168.0.1
      Check 'Use the following DNS servers' and fill in
      Preferred 208.67.222.222
      Alternate 208.67.220.220
      8. Switch router off and on, try to connect when it syncs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION