Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Stuck On Tier 1

    This is a discussion on Stuck On Tier 1 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please help tier 2 need to do a test on my line, but at the moment they cant get a ...

    1. #1
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stuck On Tier 1

      Please help tier 2 need to do a test on my line, but at the moment they cant get a mac address for me and so cant produce a ticket. I am currently stuck on tier 1.

      Ive been told without a ticket im unable to contact tier 2 and the ticket will be produced 72 hours AFTER they produce my code.

      Im then told to ring back in 4 days and I MIGHT get a reply but it could take a week or longer if they cannot get a mac code for me.

      Ive done the master socket test and am still getting my connection going.

      The thing is if they cannot get a mac code I am stuck what can I do?

      Your advice is most welcome.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      im assuming you have V2 Sagem? if so, there's an issue with capturing MACs at present and tier should be passing people to CST to make the ticket directly...call now and see if you can get through
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      No I dont have a sagem router I have one of the black netgear ones.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      Call back, it will still go to CST as they have to take the call if there is a technical issue that needs escalating, they will then deal with it. Will be glad when this MAC issue is resolved.

    6. #5
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      I did call back and was told as they couldnt generate a mac code they couldnt generate a ticket and was told to phone back on Tuesday. Is there anything I can say that would make any difference.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      Yep tell them you want to speak to a supervisor as any issues are supposed to be escalated up to CST even if the tier 1 agent cannot "capture" the router MAC code. If the agent refuses then ask the agent for their team leader or ask the agent to seek confirmation. If the agent refuses call customer services and complain as all issues are supposed to go to CST and be put into Emergency 3 for starters.
      By the way this was confirmed late yesterday (around 8pm - 9pm ish) so the agent may not have been aware of it.

    8. #7
      cantwinagame's Avatar
      cantwinagame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      Thanks for help have found out I have a wireless problem

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Stuck On Tier 1

      Although useful, wireless in my opinion is more bother than it's worth. I think Sky made a big mistake even supplying wireless routers. They would have been better supplying a cheaper router with a couple of powerline connectors.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION