Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    How do I find out what speed my line is capable of handling?

    This is a discussion on How do I find out what speed my line is capable of handling? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Are there any websites that'll tell me what speed my phoneline can achieve? I'm currently on sky base, but considering ...

    1. #1
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      How do I find out what speed my line is capable of handling?

      Are there any websites that'll tell me what speed my phoneline can achieve?
      I'm currently on sky base, but considering an upgrade...

      Would I be able to phone sky and tell them to upgrade me to the MAX package and use the 40 for the next 4 months subscription?

      any help/advice will be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

    4. #3
      akita's Avatar
      akita is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentham WMTRE
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      178
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Unregistered

      Please do register with us we don't bite honest and it will make life a lot easier for people to follow your posts thanks.

      If you log into the router and get the stats from it and post them it would give everyone an idea of what you line condition is like.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by mossywell View Post
      Whats happened to the "how fast can I get" (or summit similar)

      It used to be available on this site coz I've previously used it.

      Are they hiding it somewhere?

      .

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      LOL

      Not that I am aware of if it was on here it will still be somewhere honest
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      I use the tools --> ADSL2+ max speed. You'll need to know your signal attenuation.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    9. #8
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Tks mossywell - got it.
      Was looking for the - how fast can I get - option.

      Been a tough day - must pay more attention!

    10. #9
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @skygazing
      Shouldn't that be must pay more attenuation haha! Ahem... sorry.

    11. #10
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Less attenuation - more SNR - yep I'll go for that tks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION