Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    ADSL v ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on ADSL v ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I've recently asked SKY to enable ADSL2+ on my line which is only 1.2km from my LLU enabled exchange ...

    1. #1
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL v ADSL2+

      Hi

      I've recently asked SKY to enable ADSL2+ on my line which is only 1.2km from my LLU enabled exchange

      Please see below reply - What do you all think?

      QUOTE

      I can confirm that at the moment your broadband box is connected at 4960kbps.

      From what my system has shown me the max attainable rate that your telephone line can handle is 5411kbps. We have configured your line at a speed of 9984kbps however it is connecting to our servers at a lower rate.

      This leads me to believe that there may be an issue with the physical setup of your Broadband Connection.

      At the moment your line is configured to G.dmt mode. Presently there would be little point in changing it to ADSL2 as the connection speeds would be just as slow and possibly more intermittent


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      sounds correct to me, could you post your router stats

    4. #3
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Hi

      Router stats below - are you saying its best to stay ADSL?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 502 396 0 0 0 0:01:50
      LAN 50 0 0 0 0 25:38:00
      WLAN 342599 331390 0 6602 5706 25:37:39
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4960 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 22.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 10.0 db

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Your connection speed is not nearly high enough, given your attenuation you should be connecting at a much higher rate. My attenuation is 36 dbs and I can connect at over 8000kbps. Either your internal wiring is dragging it down or you have an external line fault. Even if you were put on ADSL2+, you are unlikely to do any better, in fact it may even be worse.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Hi

      thanks for the reply

      According to BT, there is no issue with the line or wiring in the house. I know this because when i was with BT broadband, my connection speed was much faster.

      Could it be the router or microfilters?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      what speed did you have with BT? if it was a 2/8Mbps connection then it'd be within the limits of your setup at present so would be fine...

      also, BT will tell you you're line is fine, even if it was rotten to the core, if you mention BB and you're not with them - lol!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by andyc1978 View Post
      According to BT, there is no issue with the line or wiring in the house. I know this because when i was with BT broadband, my connection speed was much faster.

      Could it be the router or microfilters?
      Like IANTE said, when BT say the line is fine, they mean it's fine as far as the voice service is concerned. They've no interest in whether the line is good, bad or indifferent when it comes to broadband.

      But it is quite surprising that you had a faster speed with BT. I am wondering if you might have signed up to Sky TV at the same time as you signed up for Sky Broadband. You have to remember that the Sky TV box's phone connection also needs to have a microfilter. And the kind of "plug-in" type of phone extension that is often used for a Sky TV installation, is less than ideal for a phone line that has broadband running on it. If you've got an extension like that, you can sometimes improve things if you put the microfilter at the phone socket end of the extension cable, rather than at the TV box end.

    9. #8
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Got ya..

      When i was BT, i had 8Meg, receiving about 7.5 down the line which i why i was also wondering if it could be the SKY router or the microfilters?

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      possibly filters, in which case try one from your BT days...doubt its the router...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by andyc1978 View Post
      Connection Speed 4960 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 22.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 10.0 db
      As others have already said your connection speed is much lower than it should be. Do you have a test socket that you can try the router in?

      It could be a duff microfilter but that sort of poor speed would suggest something plugged into the line without a filter, like a Sky digibox or phone somewhere.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION