Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    ADSL v ADSL2+

    This is a discussion on ADSL v ADSL2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When i was BT , i had 8Meg, receiving about 7.5 down the line which i why i was also ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      When i was BT, i had 8Meg, receiving about 7.5 down the line which i why i was also wondering if it could be the SKY router or the microfilters?
      If you were getting this speed with BT there is no reason why you should not have the same or better with Sky. The only way to check is to plug in to your Test socket, as has already been suggested. If you do not have a Test socket, try plugging the router into the Master socket and unplug everything else that is plugged in to the phone line.

      Remember that if you have multi-room, both boxes must have filters and that the bit on the end of extensions fitted by Sky are not filters, they are simply splitters. Some are under the impression that these take the place of filters, they don't.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Hi

      No, i dont have a test socket, only the old style junction that BT fitted many moons ago.

      As for the rest of the house, extensions were fitted using alarm cable by my father.

      Is it worth re-wiring house - having BT come round & fitting master socket & re-wire? Or, having new phone line fitted by BT for only BB??

    4. #13
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      PS. I only live 1.2KM from the exchange

    5. #14
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Quote Originally Posted by andyc1978 View Post
      Is it worth re-wiring house - having BT come round & fitting master socket & re-wire? Or, having new phone line fitted by BT for only BB??
      There is no point having a new line just for BB as it will work fine on an existing voice line if wired correctly. Ideally you would be best off with an NTE5 master socket wired directly to the incoming line, then your extensions wired to the faceplate of the NTE5.

      This then gives you a test socket connected only to the incoming line which eliminates your internal wiring. Are you sure you have checked that everything plugged into the line is connected through an ADSL filter?

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Hi Andy.
      By far the simplest way out of this would be to fit a NTE5 master with a filter faceplate to isolate your internal wiring from the broadband signal. It is also the most expensive, as Openreach may not fit one for free to an otherwise serviceable line.
      Why did your father use alarm cable for the extensions?
      Is he an alarm eng? are you ?. I only ask because there may be a cheaper way out of this.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      A further point is, if you have a burglar alarm fitted, is it connected to the phone line and if so how?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Hi

      Thanksfor the posts - please see answers below

      1. Father is an electronics engineer & used alarm cable because he got it free from work, no other reason. LOL

      2. Alarm is not fitted to the phone line

      3. I have bought an NTE5 master socket & XTE-2005 faceplate for the master aswell as some LJ3 filtered face plates for extensions.

      Will get the new master socket fitted & then extensions spidered from the master & disconnect the current wiring.

      Hoping this will do the trick???

    9. #18
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      Right..

      BT are coming on 18.03 to fit an NTE5 master socket in upstairs room in the house where my office is. They will also run 2 x new sockets directly next to the master socket & i will disconnect current configuration & fit ADSL NATION face plates onto new sockets. Lets hope this is worth 160...

      Thanks guys

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      There is really no point in fitting filtered sockets next to the Master socket. All you need is the ADSL faceplate on the master socket and all the other sockets are filtered. If you have the ADSL faceplate, I am sure the engineer will fit it instead of the standard faceplate, if you ask him nicely.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      andyc1978's Avatar
      andyc1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01704
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL v ADSL2+

      OK Kool - thanks

      Will let you know how i get on

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION