Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    sky bb help please

    This is a discussion on sky bb help please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have read your stickys and followed your advice to the extent i have had bt come out and do ...

    1. #1
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy sky bb help please

      i have read your stickys and followed your advice to the extent i have had bt come out and do away with old phone extensions and relocate the master socket in hope it will improve my broardband. bt have tested the line and said it it working fine with no errors to report.
      i am curently pluged in to the master socket and this is my stats.
      it keeps dropping to below 3db and loosing conection

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9782 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.7 12.5
      Attn(dB): 40.0 21.4
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 9936 864
      Rate (Kbps): 9782 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 75 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.7981 7.7037
      L: 2556 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 23382 23380
      SFErr: 109 1
      RS: 1893998 198730
      RSCorr: 2576 0
      RSUnCorr: 6881 0

      HEC: 107 0
      OCD: 28 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 8699037 652312
      Data Cells: 13358 7656
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 17 1
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 6 min 37 sec
      SF = 23382
      CRC = 109
      LOS = 27
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 1 day time = 6 min 37 sec
      SF = 23382
      CRC = 109
      LOS = 27
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 37 sec
      SF = 23382
      CRC = 109
      LOS = 27
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: sky bb help please

      How are you connected the master socket? Also have you phoned sky previously regarding a speed issue?

    4. #3
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky bb help please

      its in the test socket. i did phone sky during the weekand they droped my speed down to 7m and i was still getting problems thats why i got bt out to check my phone and line and again today i phoned them and they ran test and said its ok. i even bought a new rj11 cable in case it was that. thanks m8

    5. #4
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: sky bb help please

      Hve you told sky that your noise is trouble free and to remove the cap. Also with your line attentuation being high you may consider asking to be put on to GDMT as opposed to ASDL

    6. #5
      pctech's Avatar
      pctech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky bb help please

      what is GDMT they did remove the cap on wedensday. so is my line noise free. i thought it was the 6.9db and higher would be good ? i am hopless with routers. i dont really understand what i should be trying to achive i read the stikys and thought i was getting problems due to the 6.9db droping all the time to about 2 or 3db many thanks m8

    7. #6
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: sky bb help please

      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained


      This might explain some of the issues you have

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION