Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 52

    Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

    This is a discussion on Increase Line Bandwidth? How? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Basically i have been with Sky Broadband since day one! im on the Max 16mb service, basically i jsut ...

    1. #1
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Hi
      Basically i have been with Sky Broadband since day one! im on the Max 16mb service, basically i jsut want to know if it is possible for me to actually get that much .. i have seen threads about this and how it should really be 13mb! but still
      BT says that that my line can take about 6.5mb's!
      and i am getting around 6.2mbs! which is fine but what do i have to do to get the full 13?
      im willing to do any speed tests if anyone can help??
      any help would be appreciated
      Last edited by Saturday; 16-02-08 at 08:36 PM. Reason: removed comic font and size - sorry - personal preference - looks horrible :)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Post your router stats.

    4. #3
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 13210 17712 0 7054 32145 00:04:35
      LAN 10M/100M 18493 14644 0 28538 7758 00:05:32
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 206 0 0 222 0 00:05:29


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.0 db 10.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.4 db 14.0 db

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 8096 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      It looks like you are on gdmt. A switch to adsl2+ should see an improvement. You will have to ring sky.


    6. #5
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      hmm cant i set that on my router?
      via that 0.4 utility thing for sky routers?

      or is it something sky have to 'uncap' ?

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      If you wre on adsl2+ you could set it back to gdmt via that utility but sky have to put you on it first. You cant do it if its not enabled by them.


    8. #7
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      ahh!
      many thanks!
      i shall give them a call on monday! hopefully that should make a difference!

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Be prepaired, Sky may say that they have tried your line on ADSL2+, but there were lots of errors. So before you call, make sure your internal wiring is up to scratch.

    10. #9
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      thanks for the info brian!
      should be perfect!
      im only 2 meters from the extention box!
      not much wires
      =]
      and also we have 2 bt lines
      one specifically for broadband so fingers crossed hey!

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      You can use the utility you refered to earlier to extract your detailed router stats. Post them here and someone will advise.
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4


     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION