Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 52

    Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

    This is a discussion on Increase Line Bandwidth? How? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; they close at 9pm right? I don't think so, I believe you are better phoning between 10 and 11....

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      they close at 9pm right?
      I don't think so, I believe you are better phoning between 10 and 11.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Quote Originally Posted by VISH View Post
      hmm ill give it a few hours
      they close at 9pm right?

      =[
      Sky Broadband Tech support does not close apart from things like Christmas lol Before 2300 most calls stay UK based, after 2200 queues start dropping, after 2230 queues are significantly shorter. After 2300 you go offshore

    4. #33
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      hmmm stats have changed!!! =D
      somethings happening
      i seem to be on ADSL2+ NOW =]

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9074 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 16.5
      Attn(dB): 22.5 8.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 10336 864
      Rate (Kbps): 9074 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 108(0) 24
      R: 8 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 51 68
      B: 107 23
      M: 2 8
      T: 3 1
      R: 8 16
      S: 0.7593 7.7037
      L: 2360 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 51847 49487
      SFErr: 6 1
      RS: 4432924 436632
      RSCorr: 283 0
      RSUnCorr: 345 0
      Last edited by VISH; 24-02-08 at 10:44 AM.

    5. #34
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Hey guys!
      got a email from sky bb saying that line testing is complete and these will be my final stats!

      just would like to thank everyone for helping out!
      and so fast!!
      really good support! sky should learn from this!
      im sure 3/4 of you know more than the customer service people down at sky!

      thanks again! =]

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9654 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.2 16.0
      Attn(dB): 22.5 8.9
      Pwr(dBm): 16.0 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 10952 864
      Rate (Kbps): 9654 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 115(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 51 68
      B: 114 23
      M: 2 8
      T: 3 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.7601 7.7037
      L: 2547 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 65374 62422
      SFErr: 4 1
      RS: 5589528 550752
      RSCorr: 97 0
      RSUnCorr: 119 0

      HEC: 4 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 24199457 2583153
      Data Cells: 13867 4895
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5 1
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 55 28
      AS: 1063

      INP: 1.20 2.37
      PER: 16.24 17.81
      delay: 12.16 15.40
      OR: 28.06 33.23

      Bitswap: 269 31

      Total time = 14 hours 6 min 57 sec
      SF = 3163839
      CRC = 915
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES = 5
      Latest 1 day time = 14 hours 6 min 57 sec
      SF = 3163839
      CRC = 915
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 57 sec
      SF = 25681
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54081
      CRC = 456
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56115
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56116
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54612
      CRC = 454
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 1
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1

    6. #35
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Quote Originally Posted by VISH View Post
      got a email from sky bb saying that line testing is complete and these will be my final stats!
      Glad you're happy

      Good news too that you're on ADSL2+ and appear to be uncapped. Your stats show that there is considerable room for improvement in your line quality and if at a later stage you decide to do this then a big jump in speed is likely. To see what's achievable, try your test socket again (just the router and supplied filter and cable, no phone or extensions etc) - last time you tried you were on G.DMT so a higher sync wasn't possible.

    7. #36
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Hey,
      i tired test socket!
      i get exactly the same stats n sync speed!
      but as soon as bt start giving us free optical fibre cables :P
      we should all be getting super fast broadband!
      but i am happy with my 9.6 mb speed =]

    8. #37
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      If the sync stayed the same, did the noise margin rise?

    9. #38
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      with Attn(dB): 22.5 8.9
      u should see full speeds 16 mbit
      so there is something not right there

      my stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14330 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 11.5 db

      they have capped my line at 14mbps or there abouts and im on attenuation of 31

    10. #39
      VISH's Avatar
      VISH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      hmmm iangilf what was ur max line stated speed?
      i was told my line was only capable of 4-5 mbps! and ive always been getting 6mb ... and now i am getting speeds of 9.6mb!
      maybe it has something to do with BT having false information?

      and Saturday the sync and noise margin stayed the same .. maybe just a .1 of a difference but that could be down to number of reasons??

      router today states
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9761 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 8.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 17.0 db

    11. #40
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Increase Line Bandwidth? How?

      Sometime on or before the 18th of Feb you were moved to ADSL2+ which is why your speed increased (on G.DMT you were capped at 8096kbps).

      You have a very low attenuation which, with a relatively quiet line, would easily support 16meg. You're not getting that which means you're capped or have a noisy line.

      You're only getting a shade under 9meg and the comparison with your test socket confirms two things: you're not capped and it is your BT line which is noisy.

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION