Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    migrating from uk online

    This is a discussion on migrating from uk online within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; im currently a uk online customer with their LLU service. Sky pre-registration said I can migrate from uk online no ...

    1. #1
      acDC's Avatar
      acDC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question migrating from uk online

      im currently a uk online customer with their LLU service.

      Sky pre-registration said I can migrate from uk online no problem, uk online customer service said i will need to cease my line wait for the cease then order sky broadband, because they don't support migrations from LLU.

      by uk online uses easynet LLU, and sky broadband uses easynet LLU. so who is correct here? are there going to be potential difficulties when i try to sign up.

      should i just ask sky to provision my sky broadband account on their servers, hoping that i wont need any kind of gateway change or anything. also should i just ask ukonline to stop my account but not send a cease order to the exchange?

      arrgh im confused & worried about it going belly-up.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site acDC

      To be honest I don't know if anyone will be able to give you an answer to that, it has been said on here in some posts that SkyBB will migrate UK Online customer but other post have said that a cease and re-provide is needed I so I guess the only way you will know for sure is to talk to SkyBB TS or provisioning.

      I hope you do get some kind of reasonable answer.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm in the same situation. Stupid isn't it?

      I suspect that the first thing you'll need to do is to have any chance of a sensible conversation is to get put through someone higher up, or just get lucky with whoever answers your call. The person I spoke to had no idea that Sky had any connection with Easynet or UK Online and all she did (she told me this) was to read off a list they are given and apparently UK Online are specifically listed as an ISP who won't issue a MAC code. This of course is wrong, UK Online will issue a MAC code, but I think the list is also intended to capture ISPs who, although they will issue a MAC code, Sky won't accept it anyhow.

      The fact that Sky customer services has a list of "problem" ISPs with UK Online listed explicitly isn't promising.

      One option posted here is an intermediate transition to Zen (search the forum for "Zen"). Personally the option I'm leaning towards right now is to just wait it out a couple of months and see if Sky get any smarter with the MAC codes for LLU ISPs (or even just UK Online MAC codes). My strategy is partly lazyness (I believe the Zen option is a valid one but I don't think I can be bothered to do 2 ISP changes in as many months), but also a 2 month wait might give Sky a chance to resolve the various issues they appear to have such as router lockups (for some people) and just the general backlog causing activation delays. A 2 month delay will cost me 30 and I can live with that.

      - Julian

    5. #4
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have migrated and am awaiting sky activation (21/09/2006). I had to do a cease n re-provide on the line as there appears to be no proceduce in place to move across people from one subsiduary of the company to another. Then again someone in sky said i could so who knows!

      Fingers crossed i am activated on thurs thou. Checked the BT tracker and it's in there. Only problem is when i click on view details it says there is an error!

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Good luck mate hope it happens when it should
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Cheers pal. Here's hoping too! Been stuck on narrowband for the last week and needless to say i've discovered i have a very low patience threshold for waiting around for sites to load up

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep been there myself and its not a nice feeling
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION