Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Why is my broadband soo slow?!

    This is a discussion on Why is my broadband soo slow?! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, I have the sky max package and the netgear DG834GT wireless router, running one laptop off it. One ...

    1. #1
      matttyyy's Avatar
      matttyyy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Hey guys, I have the sky max package and the netgear DG834GT wireless router, running one laptop off it.

      One thing i have noticed is that my connection is always very slow. When i go into the router page, it says:

      DownStream Connection Speed 960 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps

      And all speed testers on the internet get downstream speeds of no more than 800kbps.

      I can appreciate i probably wont ever get the full 16mbps download speed im paying for, but i thought i could get at least half that. I am not happy with my current 1mpbs.

      Does anybody know if download speeds should be this low, and if theres anything i can do about it?

      Thanks for ur help guys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Quote Originally Posted by matttyyy View Post
      When i go into the router page, it says:

      DownStream Connection Speed 960 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      And what does it say for attenuation and noise margin?

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      also where is it plugged in?

    5. #4
      matttyyy's Avatar
      matttyyy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Here is the extra information you asked for...

      Line Attenuation
      Downstream: 49.0 db
      Upstream: 31.5 db

      Noise Margin
      Downstream: 7.1 db
      Upstream: 14.0 db

    6. #5
      matttyyy's Avatar
      matttyyy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      And what does it say for attenuation and noise margin?
      Line Attenuation
      Downstream: 49.0 db
      Upstream: 31.5 db

      Noise Margin
      Downstream: 7.1 db
      Upstream: 14.0 db

    7. #6
      matttyyy's Avatar
      matttyyy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      also where is it plugged in?
      Its in my bedroom. I think the wiring isnt connected very well. The men did appear in a bit of a rush when they came to fit it. Some of the wires appear to be sticking out and not going into the hole. Could this have anything to do with it a low speed?

      I will upload a picture of it onto my website if you would like a closer look. As you will be able to tell from the pictures, there is an orange and white wire sticking out, unconnected...

      http://pshypersystems.110mb.com/14022008366.jpg
      http://pshypersystems.110mb.com/14022008368.jpg

      (If the page doesent work first time, just press refresh and they should come up then)

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Your wiring is not helping your BB speeds at all. In order to see what soft of speeds your line can support do this.
      (1) switch off your router and connected it to the test socket of your master phone socket. Now resync your router and see what the speed is.
      (2) If it is much better than at the extension (and I'm sure it will be) then you need to consider a better extension lead and removal of the ring wire from terminal 3 at the master.
      (3) The best BB connection you can get is by fitting a faceplate filter to your master socket, and re-locating the router there so you can have a nice short connection to it. You then need to connect router to pc by cable or mains network.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Why is my broadband soo slow?!

      Quote Originally Posted by matttyyy View Post
      I can appreciate i probably wont ever get the full 16mbps download speed im paying for, but i thought i could get at least half that.
      ADSL is a line length/quality dependant service. Attenuation is largely a measure of line length. Your attenuation at 49db shows your line is quite long but not too bad and you could expect a connection of ~6meg. You're not getting anywhere near that, your noise margin indicates you're not capped so the shortfall between the 1meg you're getting and the 6meg potential is down to your line quality.

      See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems. Sort it out and you should be able to get a 6meg connection.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION