Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Just been moved from connect

    This is a discussion on Just been moved from connect within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Had a letter today to say that i had been moved from connect to Mid, trouble is my stats are ...

    1. #1
      jqworle's Avatar
      jqworle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worle
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Just been moved from connect

      Had a letter today to say that i had been moved from connect to Mid, trouble is my stats are worse than before both in attenuation and sync speed.
      Is there the usual 10 day training period with sky?

      Atten before 29db now its 31db
      SNR was 7 now its 8
      I always synced at 8128 before both with Zen and on Connect.

      System Up Time: 00:28:49

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5787 8214 0 1048 9013 00:17:32
      LAN 100M/Full 9359 6985 0 5869 802 00:28:45
      WLAN 11M/54M 1775 1615 0 107 82 00:28:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7008 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 13 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been moved from connect

      sounds like something on the exchange end - the LLU may have slightly worsened the line quality?
      theres is no training period on sky's products

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just been moved from connect

      Quote Originally Posted by jqworle View Post
      Atten before 29db now its 31db
      SNR was 7 now its 8
      I always synced at 8128 before both with Zen and on Connect.

      i would have thought both your previous connection were to BT equipment at the exchange (connect 100% sure, Zen not so sure)

      i may well be shot down in flame for saying this, but you are now on equipment from sky which may bw why your attenuation has changed (my thinking is sky's equipment is different from BT and handles the info differently)
      with your attenuaton (29 or 31) you should still be getting the maximum from your connection (i think it should be 8096) you do not look to be "capped".
      you could try a test and see if you get better results from your "test" socket behind the face plate of your master socket

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just been moved from connect

      There is a slight possibility that you have been put on ADSL2+ by mistake. This would account for the increase in attenuation and it is not always the best to be on if your line is not too good. I don't know if there is any way to confirm this with the V2 router. I could be completely wrong

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just been moved from connect

      Hi All.
      Yeah my attenuation went up a bit when moving from BT to Sky. I don't know what causes it, or even if it is just a reporting error. I can say it is not tie pairs or anything else because I did the shift myself.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just been moved from connect

      You are on Max Brian, so there is every chance that you are on ADSL2+, which increases the attenuation by 3 for some reason. No doubt someone knows why?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just been moved from connect

      Hi Isitme.
      Yes you are right I'll get my coat!! I misread the original post (left specs at work, now you know why shifts sometimes go wrong!)
      Last edited by Brian69; 12-02-08 at 06:16 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION