Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 68

    Breaking the Terms and Conditions - Your Views Welcome

    This is a discussion on Breaking the Terms and Conditions - Your Views Welcome within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If a router is working correctly, it shouldn't be necessary to cap the sync speed. The router syncs at a ...

    1. #1
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Breaking the Terms and Conditions - Your Views Welcome

      If a router is working correctly, it shouldn't be necessary to cap the sync speed. The router syncs at a speed which gives a noise margin of about 7dB, precisely to give the connection some "headroom". And if there's more than a 7dB decrease in SNR, then the modem should retrain.

      Unfortunately, the V1 router doesn't seem to be able to use that "headroom" properly and doesn't always seem to recognised the need to retrain either.

      Capping is Sky's workaround for this problem. I'd advise using the Mognuts utility to increase the target noise margin. Both techniques achieve the same effect, i.e., an increase in noise margin at the cost of a reduction in speed, but using Mognuts means you remain in control and hopefully, when Sky finally release the new firmware, you won't need to increase the target noise margin, saving you the pain (and pain's the right word) of having to ask CST to remove the cap.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: crc errors

      if you do that then you will break the t&cs of sky and you might also make your connection worse but if cst do it then you can not be held responsible

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      if you do that then you will break the t&cs
      Which ones? You are fairly new to the forum and may not realize that this does not involve changing or flashing the router.

      Do you work for Sky?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: crc errors

      I've read the terms and conditions very carefully, and the only conditions that relate to router use are that (a) you have to use the router which Sky sent to you, so you can't use any other router, not even a Sky-branded router bought off eBay, and (b) you have to let the router auto-update.

      Personally, I'm running a modified version of the V1.02.28 firmware on the V1 router that Sky sent to me. The modifications I made to the firmware do not prevent the router auto-updating, so I can see no way in which I've breached the T&C's.

    6. #5
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: crc errors

      i am in the cst and this tool can also be used to retrieve your username and password and only sky are meant to change the snr.

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: crc errors

      So Sky's Legal Department can't draft a contract properly? Rather surprising that.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      Or CSTs can't read the T & Cs properly

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: crc errors

      9. What we are not liable for
      We will not be liable under this Contract to you, or any other person who you allow to use Sky Broadband, for:
      (a) any fault in your Wireless Router caused by tampering or negligence (unless caused by us) or by the failure to follow our reasonable instructions, these Conditions or the Usage Policies;

      You must not adapt, modify, decompile or reverse engineer any part of Sky Broadband.

      this is two parts of the t&cs that you need to look at

    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: crc errors

      He's right you know. It's not in Section 3 of the Terms and Conditions ("3. The Wireless Router"), it's in the AUP.

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: crc errors

      You bad lads!! I don't know how you sleep at nights.

      This was pointed out to me over the defective router socket (You are not supposed to in any way re-engineer any part of sky BB) but as I said I would return the replacement and had not touched the firmeware they were happy. Sky are very touchy about this it would seem.

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION